I’m on the hunt.

Harken back with me to the early 1970’s.  (harken?  Really?  You used harken?)  Well, yes.  Yes, I did.  It’s better than saying ‘Once upon a time’ or ‘Back in the good ol’ days’, right?

Anyway…my mom used to make Salmon Cakes.  I loved them.  They were crispy on the outside and moist on the inside with a hint of spicy heat.  I haven’t had them in YEARS like that.  Unfortunately that was one recipe that I never got from her.  I’ve tried and tried so many recipes to make these and they all fall short.

Recently I tried another Salmon cake recipe that the author of stated, “so many comments on this recipe!  Many say that it is of restaurant quality!”  That alone piqued my interest.  Mmm.  Restaurant quality?  I’ve tried it in restaurants and my mom’s was better but what do I have to lose?

I tried it.

Those comments lied.

Many times when I try new recipes based on reviews and the taste of the dish is sub par, I think, “People actually liked this? “  I know that taste is individualistic, but c’mon, people!  I know that I can be a foodie.  Ok, I am a foodie.  When out to dine, I try to determine the spice and herbs used in dishes or the way a chef might be making something that I could try.  But that aside, I’m amazed sometimes at what is out there in the internet.  When I post a recipe here at Idiosyncrazies, it’s one that I’ve been making and enjoy.  I do not pass on something that I haven’t tried at all.  Why would I do that to you?  You wouldn’t come back at all to try anything I post ever again.

Let me give you a peek inside a failed dish.

The first clue was the listing of three cans of salmon.  No weight or ounce listed, just three cans.  Cans of salmon come in various weights.  I used the 4 oz. weight hoping for the best.  I should have had one more can for this recipe.

You can see here that it had too much ‘juice’ or in this case, eggs in it and the batter itself was runny.

They didn’t hold together either but fell apart during the cooking.

Here they are at the end of the cooking time period.  Pretty enough but not tasty enough for my palate.

Would I make this recipe again?  No.  But I’m still looking out there in www. land for that one recipe of Salmon Cakes that I can call my own.

Have any ideas where I might find it?

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I’m on the hunt.

  1. Felia says:

    Comment 1) My Grandma has a salmon cakes recipe; I will pass it along. I DOUBT it is the same, but it is worth a gander. Comment 2) It’s like my pad thai fiasco last night.

  2. Mr. Fae says:

    It wasn’t as bad as you are making it out to be!! I think it might start with the main ingredient “salmon”. You are not a salmon lover, you eat it but it does little for you. :-) I on the other hand really enjoy salmon–if a little tabasco or jalapeño was added I think it would have been Marvelous!!
    From the guy that gets to enjoy your Great Cooking!!

Leave a Reply

