Just add a little color here and there

One very small thing gives me simple pleasure.  Going to Home Depot.  No, not really. But when I have to go to Home Depot or Lowe’s, you will always find me at some point in the paint section looking at the color swatches.

I have always been drawn to the amount of color out there in infinity.  And what really grabs me is the tones of each hue.  I love to choose a blue and see what swatch of yellow looks best with it.  Mixing and matching to my heart’s content until Hubby finds me and drags me to the checkout counter complete with all the drip system doo-dads we went up there to find in the first place.  And may I add, there is nothing in my home that needs painting.  Nothing.  I still have no idea why I mix and match.

So when I was skipping around the internet the other day, following some scrapbooking sites, I found the most amazing designer who, for no other reason, wanted to make me happy.  She does pages of photographs and then using just the colors in those photos, creates color swatches.

I did what any other scrapbooker does with inspiring works.  I ‘CASE’d it.  (Copy And Steal Everything)

Here is what I did in a matter of minutes per page.

(ISO 500,105mm, f/4, 1/125)

This is a place in Montana in Glacier National Park.  We stopped here to stretch our legs and I was mesmerized by the colors of the glacier water.  And it was c-c-c0ld!

(ISO 200, 100mm, f2.8, 1/80)

This photo is from last summer’s garden.

(ISO 100, 65mm, f/5, 1/100)

The more I work with Photoshop, the more I love it.  It has a marvelous tool called Color Picker.  You click on any color within your photograph and it copies it exactly.  That is how I made the swatches.  With each of these pages, I ‘picked’ a color out of the photograph and created the swatch.  When I showed Hubby, he only shook his head.  He’s used to my usual scrapbooking methods.  He doesn’t get the color swatch thing like I do.

My plan is to ‘Swatch‘ color intense photographs that I take and make an 8×8 book out of my creations.  Just for me.  And I won’t have to go to Home Depot anymore.

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

