What is seen and not seen

This past Monday I had surgery.  EYE surgery to be exact.  Lasik eye surgery.  Involving LASERS.  It was quite Star Trekkie of me using lasers like that.  I just want you all to know that I’m on the cutting edge of technology here.

Truth be told, this was my second eye surgery.  I had Lasik 13 years ago and the doctors were quite surprised at the length my vision held up.  Usually this type of surgery will last about eight years before corrections need to be done either with glasses, contacts, or more surgery.  I had noticed that my vision was getting a little dodgy with distance not to mention my close up vision was pretty much shot.  Needed glasses for both and finally my eye doctor said that, yep, it was time.

This is what happened.  Straight from the doctor’s mouth or Wikipedia, which ever one you like best.

The operation is performed with the patient awake and mobile; however, the patient is sometimes given a mild sedative (such as Valium) and anesthetic eye drops.

Now just let me insert my opinion here.  Valium?  That is like drinking straight shots of vodka to me.  I was drunk by the time I got home.

LASIK is performed in three steps. The first step is to create a flap of corneal tissue. The second step is remodeling of the cornea underneath the flap with the laser. Finally, the flap is repositioned.

A corneal suction ring is applied to the eye, holding the eye in place.

(They call it the SPECULUM.  Ladies?  Really?  Speculum?  They couldn’t think of any other word to use?  Couldn’t you say, ‘they use the RACCOON to hold the eye in place’.  It wouldn’t give us female types the willies that way.  Just sayin’.)

This step in the procedure can sometimes cause small blood vessels to burst, resulting in bleeding or subconjunctival hemorrhage into the white (sclera) of the eye, a harmless side effect that resolves within several weeks. Increased suction typically causes a transient dimming of vision in the treated eye. Once the eye is immobilized, the flap is created. This process is achieved with a mechanical microkeratome using a metal blade, or a femtosecond laser microkeratome that creates a series of tiny closely arranged bubbles within the cornea.[15] A hinge is left at one end of this flap. The flap is folded back, revealing the stroma, the middle section of the cornea. The process of lifting and folding back the flap can sometimes be uncomfortable.

Again…this is the grossest part to me because I know what they’re doing at the time and I had to talk myself into holding still, no sneezing, and please God in Heaven and all things that are Holy, no earthquakes, ok?

The second step of the procedure is to use an excimer laser (193 nm) to remodel the corneal stroma. The laser vaporizes tissue in a finely controlled manner without damaging the adjacent stroma. No burning with heat or actual cutting is required to ablate the tissue. The layers of tissue removed are tens of micrometres thick. Performing the laser ablation in the deeper corneal stroma typically provides for more rapid visual recovery and less pain than the earlier technique, photorefractive keratectomy (PRK).

During the second step, the patient’s vision will become very blurry once the flap is lifted. (Why, Yes, YES IT DOES!)  They will be able to see only white light surrounding the orange light of the laser, which can lead to mild disorientation.  (MILD?  You’ve got to be joking here, right?)

After the laser has reshaped the stromal layer, the LASIK flap is carefully repositioned over the treatment area by the surgeon (think squeegee here) and checked for the presence of air bubbles, debris, and proper fit on the eye. The flap remains in position by natural adhesion until healing is completed.

And so this brings all of you up to date with the surgery.  If you haven’t gagged enough already here is me looking at you.

No, it wasn’t really me here.  Seriously, do you think I would have my picture taken WITHOUT MAKEUP ON?

Now here’s the deal.  Right now my vision is eagle vision or as my Hubby refers to it, Bino-vision.  It’s pretty damn good.  I can see things so far away, it’s incredible.

But my close up vision is not very good.  Yes, it is only three days after surgery and my eyes are still healing but to read or type?  That’s hard.  Don’t even think of texting me right now…my arms aren’t long enough to hold the phone out to see those little letters.

And the things that I don’t get to see at all?  Here are two of them.

Hope you’re feeling better, Fannie…

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is seen and not seen

  1. Fannie says:

    Oh, dear friend, first of all…thanks for the sweet reference in your post. Also, thanks for pinch-hitting for me, especially when typing is not particularly easy right now. Anyway, I’m doing much better; back to my cheeky self…thanks!

Leave a Reply

