Gardening

One of my other most favorite places in the world is my own little townhome.  I bought it about a year and half ago, and the backyard was nice, but I had so many ideas for it.

However, I am not much of a gardener.  Some (most) people would say I have a black thumb.  But my aitxitxa (my Basque grandfather) gardened a lot when I was younger, and some of my favorite memories were outside with him and my dad.

Now I have my own backyard, and it is full of possibilities.  That is where Tyler comes in.  The boy LOVES to garden, grow things, plant things, and eat.  So, this is what we did this last weekend.

When I bought my place, the garden bed on the right was all I had.  So Tyler made another one to the left there to utilize that space more.

I did a little remodeling on the pond, too.  I propped up the upper pond a little more, and then moved the rocks around a little more to make it more aesthetically pleasing.

This is what it looks like after we planted some things.  There are blackberries and raspberries in the back there, and lettuce, spinach, onions, rosemary, and collard greens.  (Those were an accident.  They were in the same bin as broccoli. I only know of one way to make collard greens!)

Of course, then we had to put a little fence around it so Laida wouldn’t get into it, and then it snowed, but hopefully, nothing took the snow too hard.  More updates on this awesome little place later.

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gardening

  1. Fae says:

    Those blackberries and raspberry bushes will take over your entire back area! Our neighbor planted some many years ago and we still do battle over the blackberry canes that come up on our side of the fence! I love your pond you’ve got going there!

  2. Fannie says:

    Very sweet…your own little piece of heaven!

Leave a Reply

