Why Don’t I Do This More Often?

As anyone who knows me is painfully aware of, I am a little bit addicted to my hobby of choice…scrapbooking, and it’s sidekick (mostly to make use of an obscene amount of supplies and “left-over stash”) “papercrafting.”

And, as much as they would like to tease me about it, those very same people who tease me the most about my “addiction,” have been the recipients of some of my creative pursuits…

This was a little project I put together last year for my daughter (as well as duplicates for her two grandmothers and her mother-in-law) to celebrate her first Mother’s Day…

There are more pages to this, but you get the idea…

And this was a quick little project I put together a few weeks ago…

I wanted to play with a new stamp I had purchased, and to use up some of my “stash” creating a supply of thank you notes.

Most recently, I’ve been indulging myself, once again, on layouts featuring our precious grandson, Parker…

The inspiration starts with some great photos of Parker’s first trip to the zoo (thanks, Mandy!)…

Pull in some inspiring page layout ideas from PageMaps…

Sort through and select from a crazy amount of supplies, papers, embellishments, etc…

It’s starting to take shape…

And we’re almost there…

…and, while I’d love to feature the finished product, it still has some finishing touches to add, like journaling. So…I’ll post the finished product later…

But, while the finished product may be the “goal” the real joy is the journey…I love to create; whether it’s a mini scrapbook, a layout to slip into the bigger album, or a card…I just love to get my hands “dirty.” Silly as it sounds, sometimes I find inspiration just being immersed in my scrapbooking stuff…all of a sudden, when cleaning up my scrapbook room (which ALWAYS seems to need to be cleaned up) I uncover a forgotten photo, an idea clipped from a magazine, a partially completed project or even just a packet of paper that sparked a concept months ago…and before I know it, I am, once again, happily creating.

So, why don’t I do this more often?

I’ll come up with the same reasons that many of you do when it comes to questions such as this regarding our hobbies or indulgences…jobs, kids, laundry, grocery shopping, housework, yardwork, etc., etc., etc.

But, really, when I consider the joy that I get from my creative pursuits, not to mention the ULTIMATE joy I get when I give them to loved ones, why DON’T I do this more often? Hmmmm…

I think I just talked myself back into committing to sit down and create on a regular basis…

What’s your indulgence? What feeds your creative, musical, literary or athletic soul? When you revisit it, you may be amazed at how much you’ve missed it and how much it really does “feed” you….

And now…I have a scrapbook page to finish up…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why Don’t I Do This More Often?

  1. Fae says:

    You know, I always blame you for getting me into this crazy hobby. A hobby that we joked about many years ago for needing a second mortgage on the house to pay for all the ‘stuff’ we needed to have to create and feed the addiction! And I feel extraordinarily proud of the fact that I have sucked in many more talented women into this as well. And look what’s happened due to it? A fellowship in like-minded scrapbooking women who celebrate events in their own lives during annual retreats called Croptoberfest and Spring Fling. Which reminds me….time to start planning the next one!

  2. Stacey Coffman says:

    Honestly, much to my surprise when we opened Scrapbook King, my hobby turned into a job, which in turn took a “tad bit” of joy out of my hobby. The good news was that I had the opportunity to meet YOU and a select group of women that every year brought the joy of this amazing craft back to me. I am so thankful that we had the opportunity to meet and share stories through this craft, you have truly touched my heart and given me inspiration as a mom (in case you are wondering – I’m crying as I write this.) I am grateful that you are always at the helm of organizing Croptoberfest and making sure that none of those everyday excuses gets in the way of this much needed time together. Love you Patti and all our other Fester Sisters!

    • Fannie says:

      Ok, now it’s MY turn to be all blubbery! Yes, it’s been an incredible journey (and one that continues). I couldn’t even BEGIN to put this all into words last night as I was crafting my blog post (for fear some of our “non-scrapbooking” friends may run off screaming into the morning light). But you are right; we have shared so much through this journey! Think of it! Births (grandbabies for some of us), milestones (preschool graduations, high school graduations, college graduations, weddings), worldwide events (remember the Croptoberfest shortly after 9/11 when the Americana Bear was our centerpiece?). Remember when Mandy USED to scrapbook with us (before she was 16, had a drivers license, a boyfriend and a job…in her words “a life”)? And then, lo and behold, she joined up with us many years later for her initiation into Croptoberfest. Remember when I met Tiffany at a scrapbooking event…”oh, she’s a new friend, give me a raffle ticket.” Lorna and JoLee were there. And, Lorna…remember the trips to the early years of Croptoberfest…SunRiver? And how about my trips down to Reno for NSD? Remember our paper doll cut out that was hung over and had a cigarette hanging from her mouth? Yes, indeed…this is the icing on the cake. Thank you all who have joined me on this journey!

Leave a Reply

