Courtney’s Goo

This little precious one is my niece, Courtney.  This photo was taken, oh, about 33 years ago.  She was our Flower Girl in our wedding.   So, yeah, all of us have changed in the ensuing years.  Courtney grew up, got married herself (and I was NOT asked to be a flower girl in her wedding, either!) and had two boys of her own.

During family Christmas parties, or reunions, or BBQ’s or any excuse to get together with loved ones, Courtney would usually make this recipe.  The first time I saw it, mounded up on a huge serving platter, I reached in to grab a handful of what I thought was a Chex Mix concoction, but noooooo.  It was sticky and I made a mess of myself and the person who came to rescue me out of this ooze.  You see, this isn’t a Chex Mix anything.  It isn’t salty or peanutty.  It is sweet and gooey.  And highly addictive.  Literally, you could just lay your face into the bowl and inhale it is so good.  Many of my scrapbooking friends have eaten this during our annual retreats.  This is one of the first things I make once we arrive at our destination so that we may snack on it all weekend long.  It usually has a place of honor right in the middle of our worktables.

Now I know of a certain family who’s matriarch (how do you like that name, Fannie?) makes a Chex Mix blend that is aptly called Devil Mix.  I have made that and swore on a stack of bibles that I would never make it again.  I sat on my kitchen floor and ate most of it before the family came home.  This recipe from Courtney equals the results without the malevolent title.

Let’s get started, shall we?  Anybody home but you?  Good.  You’ll be embarrassed at how easy this is and how sinfully good it is.  That way you can sit on your kitchen floor with the bowl between your legs and a serving spoon, digging into this without anyone seeing you.

The needed ingredients:

You’ll need a heavy sauce pan for the butter, syrup, and sugar.  So far, so good.  All diet worthy.  Melt the butter, sugar, and syrup all together.

See how I’m using LITE syrup?  I’m always thinking about you and your health.  Because I care.

Bring all this goodness to a boil for three minutes.

At the end of those three long drawn out minutes, pour the vanilla in the pan and mix it all up.

Now remove the pan from the heat and set aside for just a few minutes.  I promise.

Next in the biggest bowl you have, a ginormous bowl, or roasting pan for that matter, add the Rice Chex and the Golden Grahams.  Mix together with your hands.

Pour the almonds in and the coconut.

Have I told you how much I love coconut?  I haven’t?  Well, me and the nut go ‘way back.  If a recipe calls for a cup of coconut, I always add more.  And see that spillage here?  That’s mine.  I always call dibs on coconut spillage.

Now it’s time to pour the butter mixture into the cereal mixture.  Be careful, that pot is still hot!

Next, grab a large mixing spoon and stir, stir, stir!  See how wonderfully gooey this is?

How ’bout now?  See?  Sticky!!

Use a spoon and scoop some out into a bowl to eat.  This is not a treat to eat with your fingers.  If you eat it right now, at this point, you’ll burn your fingers.  And the roof of your mouth along with your tongue.  It will hurt for a long time.  I wouldn’t know this first hand, of course.  I’m just sayin’.

Courtney’s Goo Recipe

Mix together:

1/2 box Rice Chex

1/2 box Golden Grahams

1 cup sliced almonds

1 cup flaked coconut

Melt into saucepan and boil for three minutes:

1 cup butter

1 cup Karo syrup

1 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract, used right before you remove from stove top.

Pour over cereal mixture and eat!

Each time I bring this out now, it is a lovely gift I’ve given my family and myself.  When they see it they say, “Oh, Courtney’s Goo!”  Not just Goo, but Courtney’s Goo.  It will always be Courtney’s Goo.  And as each of us take that first bite, we smile and remember.  You see, Courtney passed away a year and half ago and with each time we have this, memories of her and her goo spring to mind.

Miss you, Courtney, so very much.

Love,

Auntie

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Courtney’s Goo

  1. Fannie says:

    Oh my goodness gracious, this “matriarch” is so honored to be mentioned along with Devil Mix (aka Scramble or “mix” as one of Jim’s high school friends fondly referred to it) in this post about Courtney’s Goo. I so wish I had met this precious young woman; I know she holds a special place in your heart. I’ll definitely have to make Courtney’s Goo for OUR Oregon Croptoberfest. Thanks, Fae…you made me laugh, smile, and cry a little…all in one post!

Leave a Reply

