How A Blog Post Comes Together

1. Motivation: What am I going to post? It’s Wednesday night, my post is “due” tomorrow at 6:00 a.m., and, unlike my co-authors, Fae and Felia, I’m just not organized enough to be able to draft and schedule my posts ahead of time. Oh no! I’m a blog failure! Maybe it’s because I’ve always believed I work well under pressure…yeah, right, my children and husband…they would rather I “not” belive THAT…

2. A song: In this case, “My Man” (“Oh my man, I l0ve him so, he’ll never know…” for you youngsters, this is a Barbara Streisand classic from Funny Girl).

3. Dinner: A girl’s gotta eat!

4. Entertainment: A new favorite show is on TV as I fix dinner

5. WOW! This sounds like the makings of a blog post!

So, here we go…

1. Motivation: I could do an “update” of prior posts; you know, reporting on the compost pile, posting completed scrapbooking pages, etc. but, no, my co-authors deserve more, expect more (!), of me!

(sorry, I had to indulge myself just a little bit)

2. My Man:

Well, he’s gone…oh no…don’t fear…not permanently…he’s just gone to Klamath Falls, and then Bend, and then Madras…he’s on a little business “boondoggle” (ha!) up through the “central valley” of Oregon. And, well, my man, as perfect as he may be, he doesn’t care for risotto. Yeah, I know. That’s like saying, “I don’t like potatoes.” Or, “I don’t like pasta.” Or, “I don’t like chicken.” And, in spite of the fact that I love my man, well, when he leaves (again, just briefly), I do a tiny little dance. Why? Well, because I freakin’ LOVE RISOTTO!

3. Dinner: Based on #2, above, what else? Risotto!

4. Entertainment: “Hot in Cleveland.” Have you seen this TV show? OMG! It is hysterical! Appropriately enough, while “My Man” was gone, the first episode of my series of DVR episodes I had taped was the one about the Traveling Spanx. And, interestingly enough, one of this episode’s sponsors was “One-A-Day.” As in “One-A-Day-Menopause.” Yeah, I can’t make this stuff up! Anyway, Risotto takes awhile to make, therefore, one needs a little bit of entertainment while one patiently stirs, adds broth, (sips), stirs, adds broth, (sips)…

Okay, get on with it, Fannie…

We’ve talked about the motivation, the song, dinner, the entertainment…how about the recipe?

Ok, but first…a tiny bit of backfill…

This recipe was discovered by either me, or Fae, I honestly don’t remember which one; I guess thats what happens when you’ve been friends and sharing stuff for so long…she becomes you, you become her. In any event, we discovered and shared this recipe; it has been shared with MANY! It’s been served at dinner gatherings of long-time friends, it’s been the fare of choice at Croptoberfest, it’s the “go to” recipe when “my man” (see above) is gone. It’s just downright good! It’s a great recipe for the introduction to cooking risotto. You MUST have patience. You MUST not take shortcuts. You MUST have a decent wine to sip while you cook. I wish I had the “link” I could just magically post here, but I’m afraid this recipe has been around longer then the World Wide Web, longer then Surfing The Information Super Highway, longer then…well, I exaggerate a bit, we DID get it from epicurious.com, but I doubt the link would still work and, well, frankly, it feels like I have “given” more to this blog by posting the recipe…so, here goes…

Asparagus and Leek Risotto With Prosciutto

1 lb asparagus spears, tough ends trimmed, cut diagonally into 1/2 inch pieces

5 cups canned low-salt chicken broth

3 Tbsp butter

1 Tbsp olive oil

1 cup thinly sliced leek (white and pale green parts only)

1 1/2 cups arborio rice

1/2 cup dry white wine

2 ounces prosciutto, minced

3 Tbsp freshly grated parmesan cheese

2 Tbsp chopped fresh flat leaf parsley

Cook asparagus in pot of boiling salted water until crisp-tender, about 2 minutes. Drain. Transfer asparagus to bowl of ice water to cool. Drain. Bring broth to boil in medium saucepan. Reduce heat to very low; cover and keep warm.

YUM! Look at that bright green color!

Meanwhile, melt butter with oil in heavy large saucepan over medium heat.
At this point, I really have to add that I think one of the keys to my success with this recipe is the use of my Nanny’s cast iron dutch oven…that’s MY grandmother…and I am a grandmother…do you know how OLD this thing must be? Well anyway…

Add leek and saute until tender, about 5 minutes. Add rice and stir 2 minutes.

Yeah, I like to think of myself as a “pampered chef.” Actually, “chef”, I’m not so sure of…but, “pampered”…yes, I am. I think that this PC tool was given to me by my friend, Fae, years ago.

Add wine and simmer until absorbed, stirring constantly, about 5 minutes.

(Note: the same wine you pour in the “dinner preparation glass” is the same wine you should use in this recipe…a nice dry chardonnay or pinot gris)

Add 1/2 cup hot chicken broth. Reduce heat and simmer until absorbed, stirring frequently. Add remaining broth 1/2 cup at a time, allowing broth to be absorbed before adding more and stirring frequently until rice is just tender and mixture is creamy, about 30 minutes. Add asparagus and stir until heated through, about 2 minutes. Remove from heat.

Stir in prosciutto, parmesan and parsley.

Season with salt and pepper and…

…serve. Or, just stick your face in the pot…

Ok…my notes…

I don’t know what the author of this recipe was smokin’ (or drinkin’) but it takes easily an hour to stir in all of the broth. But, take your time! It’s worth it!

And, there you have it, how a blog comes together! Bon Appetit! It’s time for me to enjoy my dinner, and miss my man.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How A Blog Post Comes Together

  1. Fae says:

    Ok, now you’re just giving our blogging secrets away!!! ;-] YOU discovered the recipe and made it for us when we came up for Jim’s high school reunion (if I remember correctly) We fell in love with it as well. I mean, really, risotto? Who wouldn’t love ANY incarnation of risotto except your man, of course. I’ll just call him Fike for short. Yes, I have seen Hot In Cleveland and it is funny! You have always seemed to ‘have it all together’ as far as planning for things (others? HA!!!!) meal plans made up, dinner cooking while at some special event…all these things take planning, dear Fannie. You do it very well. So if I’m reading you correctly, you PLAN on writing your posts Wednesday nights. Simple.

  2. Fannie says:

    Yes, but really, a post DOES need a little time to cook…when I reviewed it again this a.m., I realized I’d left the broth out of the list of ingredients! Wow…that would be some nasty, dry, crunch risotto! And, I believe it was when you guys came up for a football game during his senior year when we had this (he was too young for a “reunion” yet and it couldn’t have been graduation, because we had too large of a crowd).

  3. Stacey Coffman says:

    Definitely not for a high school reunion because I was introduced to that recipe before Jim was old enough for a reunion. The next time your man goes out of town and you are making risotto and watching Hot In Cleveland (or any other random funny girl show) I insist that you invite me over to help you stir and sip.

Leave a Reply

