In the archives

Once upon a time, in a galaxy far, far away a dear friend of mine gave me a gift that just keeps on giving.  For our 10th anniversary of being friends, she created a scrapbook for Bob and I showcasing all the photos of celebrations we shared.  It was an incredible endeavor she took on and the results were fabulous.   She made us a scrapbook.  A type of scrapbook I had never seen before.  In my mind, a scrapbook was a fake leather, cording bound book with black pages to stick photographs into by way of licking a photo corner, usually gold or black, onto each corner of the picture.   There was no writing or journaling depicting the events in the photos, unless you were lucky enough to find a rare pen with white ink.  But this new type of scrapbook?  Whoa.  It knocked my socks off.

Take a look.

Back then, the ‘rage’ or current way to scrap was to use punches (the little profile of Mickey Mouse), corner rounders either decorative or plain, stickers galore, and die cuts (already punched out shapes).  Journaling was done by hand using the most popular method = dots appearing at each juncture of the letter.  Good God, the lengths we went to!  I wanted to learn more, like right now!!

Here is my very first scrapbook page, page one of a two-pager.

Where I live, at that time, scrapbooking wasn’t the fad it would become.  There wasn’t any designated scrapbook stores here at all.  In order to find tools and paper was a major hunt.  Internet ordering wasn’t there either.  I had to have my mentor buy things for me and ship them to me.  It was a hassle but worth it.  Soon, stores started carrying more items.  At long last, scrapbook stores opened up seeing the eagerness of women wanting to spend major cashola on their scrapbooking hobby.  I bought so much paper and tools that I could have opened a store with just the stuff I had.

We had so very much fun and met the most incredible and talented ladies who shared our addiction hobby.  Although my pusher  friend lived 300 miles away, we shared our pages via the internet and when we managed to get together we always brought our albums to share.

At one point, someone came up with the idea to scrap together for an entire weekend at a distant locale.  Rent a cabin somewhere?  Sounds, awesome right?  It so was.  She and I IM’d through the magic of AOL and put together a retreat.  It was christened ‘Croptoberfest’, playing up on the word ‘crop’.  To crop means to scrapbook.  And because we were so downright giddy about all this, our messages flew back and forth…

“Let’s make up names for everyone!  Scrapbooking names!”

(If you think we sound like we’re in grade school, you are right.)

Since our gala event was called Croptoberfest, we would all become Festers.  And each of our given names would be turned into Fester names (Fester being the Family name)  Are you putting two plus two together yet?  Take a look at the authors of this blog and their names.  We are all Fester Family authors with scrapbooking being our family DNA.

One of the best things we’ve done for ourselves is to show newbies how to scrapbook.  Our scrapbooking hobby has been inflicted onto others.  Due to time and distance the original Croptoberfest has split into two groups:  The Oregon Festers and the Nevada Festers.  One day, soon I hope, we’ll all gather together for the first time.

Here is our very first Croptoberfest:

 And here is our very first Nevada Croptoberfest:

I have done so very many scrapbooks for myself and others.  I can’t even remember how many books I’ve done.  One that I’m working on right now is for one of my niece’s son, from his birth to current events.  It is going on 60 or so pages!  And I should really say that I’m currently working on his, plus my grandchildren’s, plus our family’s album.  Those are always ‘in progress’.

Now here is where I veer off course.  A year ago, I started exploring a new concept of scrapbooking.  It’s called Digital Scrapbooking and has been around for a short time.  I looked into it and discovered that I liked the way people’s pages turned out.  And I love working on my computer!  But in order to use digital scraping, I had to learn Photoshop.  If you know this program then you know that you don’t learn it overnight or over the weekend.  It took a long time for me to figure out just how to open a photograph in this program.  I watched tutorials and bought books.  I asked questions on message boards, learning new things every day.  Now I’m not an expert by any means, but I can design my beloved photographs into scrapbooking pages.  Here are a few of what I’ve done lately.

My little grand daughter was so proud of herself this day!

And a shot of how we spend our vacations…

Now you know the history that surrounds my hobby.  All of you know I scrapbook, and many of you are my Fester Family but now, you all know the backstory of how it began.  And I blame Fannie for it still.

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Croptoberfest, Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the archives

  1. Fannie says:

    BRAVO! CHEERS! HOO-RAY! This gets the blog of the day, week, month, perhaps year, award! You made me exclaim, (“OMG!”), laugh (“what are those kids doing with their hands behind their ears” others would say; we, however, know what they are doing), and cry a little. Remember when your “pusher” sat down on the phone with you on the other end and went through Pusher’s scrapbook bag to help you develop a list of the essentials you needed? You have come a long, long, way Grasshopper…and yes…not just dibbling your toes in the water, but going for the full immersion baptism, including the digital world. Me? I’m still trying to figure out how to open a photo in PhotoShop. Excellent, excellent post Fae…I’d love to see some feedback from the other Fester sisters…

  2. Fae says:

    Thank you dear drug pusher that you are! It was so much fun to go back and revisit the pages that started it all with this whole ‘scrapbooking’ thing we do. Yes, I do remember being on the phone going over, “What exactly is a white eraser and why do I need it?” ” A grid ruler….for God’s sakes, why?” “Can I borrow your corner rounder, please?”
    “Let’s go to Salt Lake City!!!!!!”

  3. Fannie says:

    Salt Lake City? SALT LAKE CITY????? So, what’s your South? And traveling…oh…’bout fifteen miles IN THE WRONG DIRECTION…before we realized we shoulda been going NORTH! But, oh, the PROMISED LAND of scrapbooking SLC was indeed! We thought we had died and gone to heaven…except the thing about feeling like we were freakin’ criminals in hell when we tried to find a liquor store…

Leave a Reply

