Justice is SERVED!

Some of you may think it is strange that I actually balance my checkbook.  But I do.  Every month.  And I hate it.  But I do it anyway.  Just in case.  Because you can’t trust anyone.

Like this month.  These jerks charged me an extra $6.  So I sent them a letter.  Here it is:

To Whom It May Concern:

In the evening of July 1, 2011, I ordered a pizza from [insert pizza joint’s name here] on [street] to be delivered to my home.  The person who took my phone call was distracted and barely paying attention to what I was saying.  After about 45 minutes, I got a phone call and it was the delivery driver asking where I lived on Carville.  I explained that I lived on Garfield, and we joked about the miscommunication.  The pizza was delivered and I signed the credit card receipt and gave the driver a $3 cash tip.  I did not tip any extra on the receipt.   The total came to $24.07.  I still have my copy of the receipt. 

Yesterday, July 10, 2011, I was balancing my checkbook when I noticed the charge that actually went through was $30.07.  I was upset, but certain that if I called, the problem would be corrected.  When I called your establishment, I asked to speak to a manager.  I was told the manager was not there that day, but that he could help me as he was the assistant manager.  (I failed to get his name.)  I explained the situation and first he asked me if I was looking at the computer, or if I was looking at my bank statement.  A valid question, as I understand that a debit pending authorization could be different than the finalized amount.  I told him that I was indeed looking at my monthly bank statement that I get in the mail.  He then told me that banks charge an extra 18% gratuity on some charges.  At this point, I was getting frustrated.  It was obvious to me that there had been a mistake on your part, and not mine or the bank’s part.  My bank has NEVER arbitrarily charged ANY amount over the authorized amount.  And 18% of $24.07 is actually $4.33, so this is an outright lie. 

I interrupted the person I was speaking with and asked him if he was telling me that my bank just randomly decided to charge me EXACTLY SIX dollars more, and NOT the 18% he claimed banks normally charge, and that it was in fact NOT their fault.  He said that was correct because they would never charge more than the authorized amount.  I told him that I would call my bank, be told that his statement is incorrect, and then I would be forced to never patronize their business again. 

And that is exactly what happened. I have made a claim with my bank to dispute the extra charge. 

I am appalled that your business can steal money from its customers and not feel any need to rectify the situation if it was indeed a mistake, and if purposefully done, that you can still be in business.  While your food is decent, there are PLENTY of other businesses that offer the same thing in the same price range.  These businesses also do not have to resort to theft to keep their employees happy.  Your business standards are low, and as a paying customer with a choice, I will never choose to patronize your business again. 

Then I faxed the letter to the corporate office.  I faxed it at 10:00 am.  I got a phone call at 10:27 am.  They are giving me my six dollars back.

Things like this just make me so angry.  I know it is only six dollars, but if they steal a little here and a little there, they can make a lot of money from an unconcerned public!  I waited tables for many, many years, and I had plenty of opportunities to take money like this, but I never did, because I am not a filthy scum bucket of a delivery driver.

When I found the error, I freaked out so bad, Tyler came running in, thinking I had hurt myself.  When I asked him if I was overreacting, he said, “No.  It’s your money.”  Pause.  “Do you want a beer?”

Yes, yes I do need a beer. 

I guess I was just brought up differently, because that is someone else’s money.  It is not yours for the taking just because you can.  People tell me I need to switch to cash rather than use my debit card, but it makes me angry that I should have to change my habits because others have no morals.  I guess when push comes to shove, that is what our society does:  changes the lives of the victims rather than the criminals.

At least in this instance, justice was served!!!  Now, I am just waiting for them to mail me free pizza coupons! (I’m not holding my breath.  I am still never eating there again.)

This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Justice is SERVED!

  1. Fae says:

    It would help all who live in this area to know the name of the establishment. We wouldn’t want it to happen to us either! but good for you!!

  2. Fannie says:

    Yes! I am Woman and Hear Me Roar! Thank you for taking the time to sit down and write this letter! I’ve also had a recent “run-in” with dishonest folks…the ones who hacked into the Michaels store’s credit card capture system nationwide and created lots and lots and lots of fake cards and then took those fake cards with their new fake PINS (but yet, based upon REAL accounts) to their local ATM’s and took lots and lots of $$$ from unsuspecting folks! Fortunately, my local bank (with whom I have a very intimate relationship :::wink:::) informed me immediately, refunded my several hundred dollars and promptly issued me a new card. But it just makes you downright mad! Honestly, in these times, I’m surprised you didn’t have the store manager doing backflips for you! Our discretionary spending is just NOT what it used to be and people have choices…like whether to do business with unethical folks or, rather, give their hard earned $$$ to the hardworking, ethical business. Hooray for you, Felia! And, I’m with Fae…you should post the name of the offending business!

  3. Felia says:

    Well, I didn’t want to say the name of the place because they DID kind of fix the problem. But it was Pizza Plus on Oddie Blvd. (SO THERE! Thbtttttt. I am having a bad week, so I just had to stick to someone. HAHA)

Leave a Reply

