Flotsam and jetsam

I am juggling a few things now…vacations coming up, reunions too, and two other blogs to post on.  Whine.  So today will be a cleaning up of brain flotsam.  What?  You haven’t heard of this disease?  I have it all the time.  Bits and pieces of information that I want to pass on or write about here.

Recently, we spent a weekend with one of my brothers and his wife.  You may remember him as being referred to as TweedleDUM.  Anyway, before breakfast, I saw my sister-in-law slicing up fruit.  And not just any slicing of fruit…this slicing of fruit.

A hard boiled egg slicer...brilliant!

She used this to slice up her strawberries.  I never once would have thought to use that.  I always used my paring knife.  Perfect, even slices.

so pretty

I thought you’d like that!

Next up, something I shared with her and now you as well.  My mom showed this to me decades ago.  My sister-in-law was incredulous of this working but it does.

Aluminum...and when you're done with it, save it for that Halloween robot costume you've been dreaming about.

Store your celery in aluminum foil not the plastic sack you brought it home in or a cute little Tupperware bin filled with water.  Just wrap it all up and throw it into your refrigerator.  It will last a VERY LONG TIME.

Up next?  Basil.  Summertime is fresh basil time.  Not thyme… time!  Do you make your own pesto sauce?  No?  What, are you crazy??  If you need a pesto sauce that is to die for, leave me a comment and I’ll send one to you.  But back to this little tidbit.  I love using fresh herbs and during the summer you’ll see basil on my counter like this.

Breath deep...can you smell it?

After you bring it home, cut the stems off a little at the ends, wash it all really well.  Plop into a glass of water and set it on your counter.  Pretty soon this will happen within a few days….

Perpetual basil!

…it will take root.  Now you won’t have to buy basil for the rest of the summer.  Before you use them all up plant a few of these into your garden or better yet, a little ceramic pot for the windowsill.

Even though I prefer using my re-usable grocery bags, sometimes I forget them and have to bring my purchases home in these.  Try it.  It really cuts down on the space.

Well, as they say in the movies…

Fae

 

 

 

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Flotsam and jetsam

  1. Anonymous says:

    Love those ideas, especially the strawberry slicer. Will be trying all of them.

Leave a Reply

