Cooking. Again.

I have been doing a lot of cooking lately.  More than I usually do as we’re getting ready to leave on our annual Wyoming vacation.  I prefer to pre-cook most of our meals so that while there I don’t have to schlep into the motorhome and slave away while everyone else is outside enjoying the rest of the day.  Schlep.  That’s what I do…shoulders hunched forward, lip out, dragging my feet with a ‘Woe is me’ attitude.  ‘I’m working in here while you’re out there…’

Pass the hanky.

Anyhoo…Since I’ve been cooking to all these great lengths, I took photos of what I was cooking and will be posting more recipes than I normally do.  I have to get this done ahead of time because as of last year, there was no wifi at the campsite (how spoiled is that??)  and I have to schlep over to the rental cabins for it.

So first up is this recipe I’ve made one other time, tucked the recipe away under Condiments in my book, and forgot about it.  When I was paging through my binder, I found it again, shook my head at my filing system and decided right then and there that it was a meal we would love to eat while camping.  (It’s a meal I would have loved to eat while I was making it!)

Here are the main ingredients…do you have them on hand today?  Good, make it tonight.

Moosh up…what?  Moosh is so a word.  Moosh up the ground beef, onion, egg, panko, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper.  But first, take off your rings, this gets messy.  Or, if you’re like me, remember to take off your rings after the fact, sigh, and start picking out onions from the diamonds.  You’ll notice that I’m using Garlic Panko.  Love this stuff but any Panko will do.

Still wearing your rings?

Then form semi bite size meatballs.  Ok, a two bite bite size mealballs.  Place them all on a cookie sheet and toss into the freezer for about 15-20 minutes to get firm.

twenty meatballs

Mix together the stock, soy sauce, sherry or vinegar, sugar, and cornstarch.  I did a one-two combo with using sherry vinegar.

Then cut up the bell pepper and if you’re smart, FRESH pineapple instead of canned like me.  I just didn’t want to run to the store again for one pineapple so instead used a can from my pantry.

Roll the almost frozen meatballs in the flour knocking off any excess.  Heat the canola oil over medium high heat.  On my stove, that’s too hot.  You be the judge on how fast you want the meatballs to burn.  Just kidding.  Sorta.  Do this in two batches because you don’t want to crowd the meat.  You want to be able to shake the pan like JiffyPop and have the meatballs roll around for even browning.  Once all of them are browned up to the color you like, remove them to a separate plate.  If you need to do a professional curiosity taste test, this is the time.  ONLY ONE.

Now pour off the oil from the pan and return it to medium high heat again.  Once it’s hot, throw in the chopped green peppers and cook until some of the edges get browned up a bit.  Then add the pineapple and cook for one minute, stirring very gently.

Next pour the stock mixture over the pepper-pineapple conglomeration and then add the meatballs.  Stir again to combine.  Allow all of this goodness to cook until the sauce starts to thicken.  Do not put your finger into this because it will burn like the dickens.  I don’t know this for sure, but I’ve been told.  It will hurt.  And you’ll burn the roof of your mouth.  And you’ll look stupid for sucking on ice cubes for the next hour.

Once this has thickened, go crazy!  Cook up some rice or noodles or couscous, whatever you have on hand and smother it with this meatball deliciousness.  There will not be leftovers.

Meatballs with Peppers and Pineapples

Ingredients:

1.25 pounds ground beef

½ whole onion, diced very finely

1 whole egg

½ cup Panko

1 teaspoon kosher salt

black pepper to taste

½ teaspoon crushed red pepper, or more to taste

¼ cup all purpose flour

canola oil

2 whole green bell peppers, seeded and roughly diced

1.5 cup fresh pineapple or canned

2 cups beef stock

2 tablespoons soy sauce

½ cup sherry or white wine vinegar

1/3 cup sugar

1 tablespoon corn starch

salt to taste

additional red pepper to taste

extra beef stock if needed

Instructions:

Combine beef, egg, onion, salt, pepper, panko, and crushed red pepper.  Mix with hands until combined.  Roll meat mixture into small balls and place on a cookie sheet.  Freeze on the pan for 15 minutes or until firm.  Mix together beef stock, soy sauce, sherry or vinegar, sugar, and cornstarch.  Heat canola oil over medium high heat.  Roll meatballs in flour, then fry in two batches until nice and brown.  Remove meatballs and set aside on a separate plate.  Pour off oil from pan and return it to medium high heat.  When pan is hot, throw in the chopped green peppers to brown up a bit, two minutes.  Add pineapple to pan and cook for one minute, stirring gently.  Pour in stock mixture and then add meatballs.  Stir to combine and allow to cook until sauce thickens.  Add salt and crushed red pepper to taste.

courtesy of Pioneer Woman

 

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking. Again.

  1. Fannie says:

    Ooh, Fae, you’ve been holdin’ out on me here, GF…I’ve never seen this recipe, but will be trying it soon…perhaps this weekend!

Leave a Reply

