From Garden to Table

As some of you may know, we accidentally bought collard greens instead of broccoli when we bought our plants for the garden.  Since then, I have been racking my brains to come up with a recipie for green besides your standard Southern Greens.  Tyler was, too, apparently, because one night when I got home, he had written down a recipie he saw on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives called Bubble and Squeak.  This week the collards are done, so I decided to try it.

I made the greens one night, and then the Bubble and Squeak the next.  First, I plucked the collards from the garden.

Straight from the ground.

Clean them well! Even if they ARE organic.

 Then I started the reciepie.  I started with onions, butter, garlic and some apple cider vinegar. 

The smell is AMAZING with the vinegar.

 Then I added some water, Tobasco, Worchestershire sauce, and molasses.  AND THE GREENS!

After a few minutes of cooking, the greens reduce quite a bit.

 Let that simmer together for about 45 – 60 minutes.  They are done!  You can either eat this as a side, or add them to the Bubble and Squeak like I did.

The next day I opened a bottle of wine to let it breathe:

A new favorite from Trader Joe's!

Then for my own treat while I cook, a kalimotxo.

 OK, now I am ready to actually cook.  Mashed potatoes, then gravy from the green’s juice, eggs, and a side biscuit.

None of that gross instant "mashed potatoes"

Mix some of the greens with the potatoes and make patties to fry.

Add a biscuit, and ...Voila! Bubble and Squeak!

 

For not having the exact measurements of ingredients, I think I did pretty well!  For those of you wondering about the actual recipie, here’s a link:  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/southern-greens-recipe2/index.html

 

This entry was posted in Cooking, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From Garden to Table

  1. Anonymous says:

    I LOVE Guy Fieri! That is our lottery dream! When we win the lottery, we will retire, buy a luxury motorhome and follow Guy Fieri all over the country, visiting all of the Triple D haunts! This looks like a tasty recipe! Congrats on the garden bounty!

  2. Fannie says:

    Yum! And I LOVE Guy Fieri! That is our Lottery Dream; when we win the Lottery, Larry and I are going to buy a big, luxurious motorhome and follow Guy around the country to all of the Triple D haunts! Anyway…the recipe looks great and congrats on the garden bounty!

  3. Felia says:

    Tyler and I love Triple D, too! He said every time we take a trip, we should go online and see if Guy Fieri had ever been there. Yum, yum!

Leave a Reply

