Basque Dinner!!

Here’s something you might not know about me:  I am Basque.  I know!  You’re shocked.  I can see it in your eyes.

When my Aitxitxa came here from the Basque Country, he brought a few things with him.  Namely, his HUGE work ethic, his soft and sweet personality, and a bag of seeds for txoritxeroak, which are deliciously sweet Basque peppers.  Aitxitxa had a green thumb.  I didn’t inherit this from him, unfortunately.

Last night, on my doorstep was a box that smelled more than a little familiar.  Mom and Dad had sent me a box of peppers via UPS! I immediately went to work and prepared an amazing Basque pintxo dinner: a tomato and onion salad, tortilla, and peppers! Pintxos are Basque tapas, and Basque tapas are a little more simple than traditional Spanish tapas, but just as delicious!

First, the tomato and onion salad is so easy to make.  Slice the tomatoes and onions (we used our cute little onions from the garden) and drizzle a little olive oil and either wine vinegar or apple cider vinegar.  Add a little salt and pepper and mix.  Simple as that!

A simple summery salad

 Next, I started the tortilla.  Tortilla in Spain is quite different from the tortillas we see in the store here.  A Spanish tortilla is a tapa, and delicious.  First, I peeled and cubed the potatoes.  Then I fried them in a deep fryer.  (Through many, many years of trial and error, my dad has decided this is the easiest and most efficient way of doing it.)

Potatoes frying away!

While those are frying, whisk some eggs, add some salt and pepper, and some garlic.  When the potatoes are done frying, scoop them out and put them directly into the eggs.

Almost there!

 Then you stir that up a little, put it in a small skillet, and cook over medium heat. Some of you may have seen me make this, and get ready for the hardest part!  Once the eggs have cooked on one side, place a plate over the skillet, and flip the pan onto the plate.  Then slide the tortilla back into the pan and cook on the opposite side.  Sounds complicated, but it ensures a nice color on both sides.  Trust me.

The finished product.

 Then we fried the peppers.  After cleaning them, you have to make sure to dry them really well, or the water will pop you when you put it in the fryer.  Also, make sure to fork them!  Using a fork, I poke them to let the air escape when frying them. After they are done, sprinkle with salt, and they are ready to go!

Fresh peppers

 These peppers are sweet and mild. The salt at the end really adds to the flavor, and I can honestly just eat these like candy.  And they remind me of my Aitxitxa every time I eat them.

The completed product

 
This entry was posted in Cooking, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Basque Dinner!!

  1. Fae says:

    First, let me tell you that a tomato and onion salad has my name written all over it. It’s just that Bob hates onions. I, of course, love them. I remember you making this tortilla one year at the Donner cabin. I loved it!! But then you passed out and I couldn’t get the recipe for it. Teehee!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I have no idea what you could be talking about. I NEVER partake in too much alcohol, pass out in front of the bathroom, and wake up with a raging hangover. And that tomato salad is so delicious and simple that it makes me happy just thinking about it. And when I was little, I hated onions, too. I just ate the tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

