Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles. Oink.

Oh, how I wanted to hate these.  I didn’t want cookie dough in the house but when I ran across this recipe….oh, man.  I was a goner.  Much has been said about cookie dough ice cream and since I’m not an ice cream fan, I just stayed with the real thing:  cookie dough from making cookies.  I would always swipe my finger into the dough before putting them onto the cookie sheet.  Didn’t matter what kind of cookies I was making either.  Cookie dough to me is cookie dough.  Always good.

Do I get an Amen, here?

The recipe calls for chocolate candy coating.  I know that my local grocery store does not stock candy coating.  The only place that I’ve seen something like that is at Michaels in their candy making section.  And who knows how long that stuff has sat on the shelf?  No, thank you very much.  Uh-huh.  I decided to use Hersey’s Dark Chocolate Chips for my coating.  Here is where you need to decide if you want a glossy chocolate covering over the cookie dough or do you want a semi-gloss?  If you want to go the route of a high-gloss look, you will need to temper your chocolate.  That’s a whole ‘nother recipe, folks.  So if you follow this, it will be a semi-gloss. Hersey’s didn’t take into consideration this recipe with it’s 14 ounce of chips required (their bags hold only 12 ounce), so I had to buy two bags.  Good thing I did, too, because I ended up using an additional 4 more ounces (3/4 cup) to get all the truffles coated.  Also, I nuked my dark chocolate in a glass bowl in the microwave.  It took about 4.5 minutes to melt it all down, stirring every 90 seconds.

So here we go with the cast of characters:

(yeah, I know, the milk is out of focus.  My bad.)

All low-cal, dairy free, gluten free, organic, and totally not of my world.

Remember to have your butter at room temperature or the mixing will take forever and it will be ugly.

This is what the mixture will look like at the ‘fluffy’ stage.

Next, add the milk and vanilla.  I love the smell of vanilla but to taste it without benefit of cooking?  Blech.  With a capital ‘B’.

Now, when the recipe calls for MINI chocolate chips, it really does mean mini.  You don’t want to bite into a truffle and have nothing but a chocolate chip in your mouth, right.  Oh, well, maybe you do.  I want the dough AND the chips.  And these chips were MINI!

Stir all these little guys into the dough.  I just used my spatula instead of the mixer.  Needed a little arm workout that day.

Now I could have just stopped here at this point.  The dough is delicious just like this and you would never have known about this recipe because I would still be sitting on my kitchen floor eating out of the bowl.

::burp::  But I wouldn’t do that to you.  I persevered.  Because of you.

You’re welcome.

I finally ended up using an inch width melon baller to get the right size.  Using my spoon made the truffles to large to insert completely into your mouth.  Just a guess on my part.  Really.

Here are the majority of the truffles.  I made 66 truffles out of the dough.  Enough to keep a certain son and son-in-law very happy.  And remember, you can freeze these things, too.

I patiently waited another 30 minutes…(rolling my eyes, tapping my nails on the counter) before I could slather these with dark, delicious melted chocolate.

oh yeah, come to Mama

I couldn’t wait until Bob got home to view my 66 masterpieces of cookie dough goodness.  I said, ‘view’ not ‘eat’.  BIG difference.

Oh, ok…I did share one, or maybe two with him.

Here’s the reason:  a certain someone on this blog who shall remain nameless (sounds like Schmannie) introduced us to a really stupid-I-can’t-stand-going-into-this-store called Harry and David’s.  Here we procured bags of Hazelnut Truffles to scarf on the way home.  Also, to freeze them for special company or desserts when entertaining.  I thought that they would last a couple of months.  They lasted a few WEEKS, people.  WEEKS.  Harry and David’s is a store run by Satan himself.  There is too much of every conceivable epicurean morsel to be found.  Back away from the store.  Slowly.

I blame Schmannie for my love of truffles.  It’s all her fault.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

Yield 3-4 dozen

Ingredients:

2.5 cups all purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

¾ cup sugar

¾ cup packed brown sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/3 cup milk

1 cup MINI semi-sweet chocolate chips

14 oz dark chocolate candy coating

Directions:

Beat butter and sugars together and in a large bowl with the electric mixer on medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add milk and vanilla.  Stir in flour, baking soda and salt.  Mix on low speed until incorporated.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Cover and chill dough for one hour.

When dough is firm enough to handle (it may help to lightly flour your hands) form dough into 1” balls and arrange on a baking sheet lined with waxed paper.  Place sheets in freezer and let chill for 30 minutes.

Melt chocolate candy coating in a double boiler or in microwave according to package directions.  Using forks or a dipping tool, dip cookie balls into candy coating to cover.  Tap fork on side of pan to remove any excess coating, and return to waxed paper-lined baking sheets.  Chill until set.  Store, chilled in an airtight container for up to 1 week.

Courtesy of Love and Olive Oil.

 

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles. Oink.

  1. Anonymous says:

    I saw these made on the Nate Berkus show and wanted to make them. Now I really want to make them, only I’ll be lucky if they last a couple of days in my house.

  2. Fannie says:

    Schmannie here…one of my best first memories of H&D, long before they were neighbors, was the chocolate decadence cake with the raspberry topping…YUM!

Leave a Reply

