Seriously Considering

For a while now, I have had the opportunity to get dual US and Spanish citizenships.  There are good things and bad things, as to every situation, but on this one I am thinking I am going to do it.

Once, when I mentioned this to someone, they started in on a bunch of horror stories of how they had dual citizenship of the US and Ireland and he got stuck at airport security, etc, etc.  I, however, will not have an US and Spanish passport.  Just the good old blue and gold passport for me!  So I am thinking that might save me some hassle, and give me some perks.

So, here is the situation.  I never knew the story of Dad’s citizenship until a few years ago, when he told me that he was applying for dual Spanish and US citizenship, and I should, too.  I asked, “What about Steph?” He explain that when I was born, back in the good ‘ol 70s, my dad was still technically a Spanish citizen living and working in the US on a work visa.  About a year later, Dad applied for and got his US citizenship, and then my sister was born.   This excluded Stephanie from doing it, but not me.  I thought about it.  For a while.  And then I thought of all the trips to the Spanish consulate in San Francisco, and I would have to go to Spain to sign the papers, and I thought, whew! That’s a lot of work.  I don’t know.  What about …

Who am I kidding?  Of course I am going to do this.  If only because I think it sounds sophisticated and bad ass.  (Never thought you would hear those two words in a sentence together, did you?)

Mom called me a few days ago, and said Tia Puri – short for Purification – (my dad’s sister) asked if I still wanted to do it.  I said, “Well, how soon do I have to go to the consulate and how many times am I going to have to go there?”  Mom said that I didn’t have to at all and that Tia would take care of everything.  All I needed was to get my birth certificate and take it with me to Spain and we would sign the papers there.  Tia loves us.  She does a lot for us, and I think secretly, she loves paperwork, like I do.  We have a lot in common.

I digress.  I was thinking, THAT’S IT?  What would the benefit for me be? (Because no one wants to do anything without it benefitting us in some way, even if it is just taking an awesome vacation, right?)

Dad replied that basically, if anything happened to me when I was in Spain (such as a car accident or I get sick), I would be taken care of.  I’m in!  That stuff can get pricey!  And I have this recurring nightmare that I am in some random foreign country and I can’t make it to the American consulate to save me from the dreaded Evil Drug Lords. (How I got caught up in a drug lord mystery is beyond me.) And this gives me TWO consulates I can go to.  I think that is as good a reason as any. And maybe I won’t have that nightmare again.

This entry was posted in Family, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seriously Considering

  1. Fannie says:

    Bad Ass AND Sophisticated! I like it! It kind of makes my tri-citizenship (California, Nevada, Oregon) not quite as cool! Have fun on the “working” vacation!

  2. Fae says:

    …and the cheese stands alone. Alas and alack, I have just the one citizenship of Nevada….poor, poor me. Whaaaaaaa!

Leave a Reply

