Rib a Dib Dib You’ll Need a Bib

Being the beloved spouse of a “cattleman” who comes from a long line of cattlemen before him, I have learned to love all kinds of preparations of red meat; pan-seared, broiled, grilled, stewed, roasted, braised, you name it. But no method of preparation really compares to the art of Bar-B-Q…

My love of Bar-B-Q came to maturity in the great state of Texas. It was there, slathered with the most incredible Bar-B-Q sauce and sandwiched between stacks of sliced white bread (the really squishy Wonderbread kind of bread), that I discovered Bar-B-Q, Texas Style…

In spite of the sign, above, Rudy’s is HANDS DOWN the best Bar-B-Q in Texas! Ok, I admit, my knowledge of Texas is relatively shallow, but, believe me, Rudy’s is darned good! Really, if you are within an hour and a half in any one direction of Austin, you need to find your way to Rudy’s. We found OUR way to Rudy’s in 2007. Anyway, I digress…

During their hiatus in the Lone Star State, my daughter and son-in-law fine-tuned “at home” Bar-B-Q; she to find the best cut of meat (beef or pork) and him to season it to perfection and then slow grill it to enhance all those luscious flavors.

My son-in-law has researched and experimented with all sorts of rubs; in fact, he introduced us to the concept. Prior to this,  all my husband and I, being “western-state-ers,” knew of this Bar-B-Q thing was to slather some tasty sauce on a piece of meat we had thrown on the grill. Boy, did we have a lot to learn!

And so, returning to Oregon, I was compelled to try my hand at my OWN Bar-B-Q; let’s begin with the basics, the “rub.”

Oops, my “stash” is almost empty! Time to make some more!

MaPat’s Rib Rub

¼ Cup coarse kosher salt
2 Tbsp paprika
2 Tbsp chili powder
1 tsp cayenne pepper
2 Tbsp garlic powder
¼ Cup brown sugar, firmly packed
1 Tbsp ground cumin
1 Tbsp dry mustard
1 tsp ground sage
1 tsp ground oregano
1 Tbsp freshly ground black pepper

Rub stores beautifully in the freezer and keeps forever; so since I have pulled almost every spice out of my spice cabinet, I like to go ahead and double, triple, or even, quadruple this recipe and store it in a zip lock freezer bag to have on hand.

I was so excited about MaPat’s Rib Rub that I “jarred” up this magical creation and gave it as Christmas gifts last year.

I have even heard, from one of the beneficiaries of my Christmas rib rub jars, that the rib rub is great on chicken. I know, I know, my cattleman guy would call that blasphemy! Putting MaPat’s Rib Rub on CHICKEN! For cryin’ out loud, Pat! What ARE you thinkin’!

In any case, rub is best used by smearing it thoroughly into all of the nooks and crannies of your ribs of choice (beef or pork),

…Wrapping smeared ribs in plastic wrap and refrigerating overnight.

But the rub is just the beginning. Next, is the method of cooking. Because we do not own a “smoker,” I try to replicate this outdoor method of cooking in the house. With a little bit of research and some improvisation, I came up with the following…

Using a heavy, deep roasting pan, with a rack, line two sides of the bottom of the pan with hickory chips, drizzle with Liquid Smoke (about two tablespoons) and fill with enough water to fill about 1 1/2 inches of the bottom of the pan.

Place the ribs on the rack, cover tightly with heavy duty foil and bake at 275 degrees for approximately three hours.

Here’s what your ribs will look like when they have completed the oven cycle of their preparation…

I know, I know, this looks like a measly rack o’ ribs…but it was just the Cattleman and myself. At this point, the meat is just about to fall off of the rib bone!

And now, they’re ready for the MOST critical part of the preparation; finding the appropriate “Outdoor Finishing Chef.”

I found this one in the recliner in front of our flat screen television…

Look how excited he is to be featured in this blog!

So, I asked the “Outdoor Finishing Chef” what his instructions are for that portion of the preparation…in his words…

“Heat the BBQ grill to med/med-low, place ribs ‘meaty-side-down’…cook for about 2-4 minutes…turn them over…slather the sauce on the meaty side…cook for another 4-6 minutes…and they’re done!”

And…his “go-to sauce?” Well, none other then…

Yessirree, that very same Bar-B-Q joint that made us fall in love with Texas Style Bar-B-Q has entered the arena of the World Wide Web, the Information Super Highway, the Internet! You can actually order Rudy’s Famous Bar-B-Q “Sause” online! And, we do! By the case!

Here’s the link…

http://www.rudys.com/

(Rudy’s is also our sauce of choice for pulled pork sandwiches!

And voila! The finished product…

Grab your bibs and spare napkins, friends! You’re gonna need ’em!

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rib a Dib Dib You’ll Need a Bib

  1. Felia says:

    Ohhhhhh, man, those look gooooooood!! I am totally stealing your recipie. Especially the bit about the wood chips!

    • Fannie says:

      Felia, Steal away, friend! And the UPS man should be delivering a little something to your doorstep on Friday that will make stealing even that much easier! Enjoy!

  2. Stacey Coffman says:

    I’ve definitely enjoyed my little bottle of MaPats Rib Rub, hoping it will become another tradition. Nice blog banner – too bad the football pic isn’t South Medford . . . jk, jk. Nicely done!

    • Fannie says:

      Hey sista…the blog banner was my first SOLO attempt at a digital composition! When attempting my very fist digital composition, months ago, my hand was held fiercely by one of my co-authors, here, I can hardly claim it as my own. In fact, you’d be ***SHOCKED*** at the expletives she texted when she found out I did this all by myself!

  3. Mark Wilnote says:

    Make sure you tuck a big paper napkin bib in your collar or you will stain your shirt! I made my two boys bib up with a big paper napkin and forgot to do the same myself. Now I have sauce stains on what was a perfectly good shirt. I’ll be sure to bib up next time.

  4. Anonymous says:

    we do the paper napkin bib thing too. Got tired of stained shirts so the paper bib idea works great with messy teenage boys.

  5. Anonymous says:

    Yes sir; just insituted the 2 napkin rule for my boys. A paper napkin across the lap and another tucked in their shirt collars. This will save their clothing and my wallet.

Leave a Reply

