I want my baby back, baby back, baby back ribs!

A very long time ago when my kids were younger, I did even more cooking than I do now.  No, really, I did!  I had to because I had to feed them or something like that.  Now, Bob and I usually have a salad with some type of protein for dinner during the summer time and my cooking knowledge is not tapped at all.  In the least.  If there is an excuse to get together, I am off and running, grabbing my cookbooks, my printouts, my whatever and figuring out what to fix.  Cooking ahead for our camping trips makes me happy.  I used to have a subscription to Bon Appetit for years and saved every one of them.  It was a new cookbook a month.  I got this desire from my mom who was a tremendous cook and I admit to cooking things for her approval.  She could whip things up to feed an army with one arm tied behind her back.  She used to put on New Year’s Eve dinners for 50 serving Prime Rib!!

Anyway, with this recipe, the tables were turned.  I received my monthly Bon Appetit, the summer grilling issue.  In it was a recipe for ribs.  Now at the time, I wasn’t a huge rib fan perhaps because I hadn’t experienced DEVINE ribs before.  Never before had any rib meal knocked my socks off until this one.  I made it and it was deceivingly easy.  (Isn’t that the case?  Something so good is so easy to prepare?)  I had my mom and dad try some of the prepared ribs and she was immediately after me for the recipe because she knew that when they went south for the winter to Arizona, she would be making these for her friends on their weekly potluck night dinners.

After both my parents passed away, I went to Arizona to take care of their place, cleaning it out, garage sales, and the like.  I hoarded all of her cookbooks and handwritten recipes to take home with me.  I found this, a handwritten recipe for my ribs with a few slight changes.

Do you think this issue has been used much based on the dried spots?

During her memorial, one of my brothers started talking about her cooking skills, particularly her BBQ ribs.  I started laughing at him because as he described them, I realized that those ribs he ate came from my recipe!  Ha! Ha!  She didn’t give me credit for them….Good one, Mom!  It still makes me smile to this day.

So if you do make these ribs, and I encourage you to make all three recipes, please give credit to my Mom.  In fact, just call them Dee’s Ribs and you’ll have an angel smiling down at you.

Here are the ingredients:

There are TWO racks o’piggy ribs here. Really.

Get your largest pot out because you’ll need it.  I like to slice up the rib rack into two to three ribs per part.

You can’t tell but there are actually two racks of ribs here.  It seems like it makes a lot but trust me, this will only feed four.  And they will be asking for not only seconds but also thirds.

Measure out the red wine vinegar.  I make this recipe so many times during the summer months that I buy the gallon size for the vinegar.  It goes fast.  Pour the vinegar into the pot followed by the broth.

Add the tomato paste.  (in my ingredients photo, I was using some frozen leftover paste put in a container with a blue lid.  See it?)

my photoshop skills are amazing, right?

Measure the honey and the Tabasco as well, throwing that into the pot.  At this point, your liquid ingredients will be getting hot.  When you add the Tabasco, the pepper fumes will fumigate your kitchen.  You may even cough.  That’s all part of the fun.

::cough, cough::

Throw those ribs into the boiling concoction and now let it simmer, covered for one hour.  After that’s done, transfer ribs to a baking sheet and let cool slightly.

Mix together the cumin and the chili powder.  What ever you do, do not use Adobo Chili Powder…way too hot for children to eat.  Just regular ol’ Chili Powder will do.  Rub this mixture all over the ribs.  My mouth is watering just thinking of this part.  It smells so good in the kitchen while you’re doing this!

Prepare your barbeque grill for medium heat.  Now here is where you can get lazy or inventive.  I’ve included the original barbeque sauce but if you have one of your own, use it.  Or use a sauce from the store.  The secret to success in this recipe is how the ribs are cooked before you slather on the sauce.

I’m drooling on my keyboard typing this up

Favorite store bought sauce. EVAH!

(I’m a huge fan of this sauce on chicken.  I’m a huge fan of this sauce PERIOD.  I’ll drink this straight from the bottle in a paper bag.  It’s made by a local BBQ restaurant here in town.  They took top honors several years ago at the Rib Cookoff with their ribs.)

Once your grill is ready, it’s time rewarm them bones!  Remember, they are already fully cooked at this point.  You’re only rewarming them for the finale.  Put the ribs on the grill, and start slathering on the sauce.  BOTH sides!!  Carefully keep an eye on this because so many times, the cook gets called away and ends up burning the sauce onto the ribs.  You don’t want it drippy, but then you don’t want the sauce burned on them either.  Find your happy medium.  Once you do, remove the ribs and it’s time to eat!

This is my girlfriend Jo Lee’s grandson. He loved the ribs!

Or you can tell your guests that you’ll be right back, grab a few ribs for ‘test tasting’ and sit on your kitchen floor and eat away!  They’ll be none the wiser unless you forget to wipe the sauce off your mouth before you return.

Rib Broth Ingredients

6 14.5 ounce cans beef broth

1 cup tomato paste

¾ cup red wine vinegar

¼ cup honey

¼ cup Tobasco

2 racks baby back piggy ribs

Dry Rub Ingredients

½ Tablespoon ground cumin

½ Tablespoon chili powder

Sauce Ingredients

18 ounce bottle hickory smoke barbecue sauce

2 Tablespoons steak sauce

2 Tablespoons mild or light flavored molasses

5 garlic cloves, minced

2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar

Mix broth, tomato paste, vinegar, honey and hot sauce into a large pot.  Bring to a simmer and add ribs.  Cook covered for one hour.  Remove and place on baking rack to cool.

Combine dry rub ingredients in small bowl.  Sprinkle and RUB into ribs.

Prepare grill to medium heat.

Combine all sauce ingredients and brush ribs generously.  Grill until just lightly charred, turning and basting often.

Lip smacking good!

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I want my baby back, baby back, baby back ribs!

  1. Fannie says:

    Ok…I’m thinkin’ that with Dee’s rib recipe (thanks for teaching your daughter how to cook, Dee…she, in turn, has helped to teach me) for preparation and rib boil and MaPat’s Rib Rub we could EASILY take the Reno Rib Cook Off…whatta ya think?

Leave a Reply

