Never forget.

Two days from now will be the 10th anniversary of 9/11.

Read that sentence again.  10 years ago.  Do you remember the moment?  That open-mouthed moment when you heard that planes had flown into skyscrapers?  The shock?  The horror of it for the passengers?  And then to find out that it was done on purpose?  And the new term/phrase/hellish word:  Terrorists.

I will never forget.  Ever.

At the time of this catastrophe, I felt that I had to do something.  Something that would never allow me to forget.  I used the photos that have now been ingrained into our memories.  I used parts of speeches from President Bush and Mayor Giuliani.  I scrapbooked an event in my life that had as much importance to me as a vacation or birthday.  I gave these pages reverence.  I did a full 6 page layout in my 2001 Memory book.

Page one

top cover page

 

Page two

first inside page

 

Page three

second inside page

 

Page four

third inside page

 

Page five

fourth inside page

 

Page six

cover last page

 

Remember the victims of this event.

Remember the victims of all the other terrorist events; London,  Bali, Madrid, Baghdad. More than 50 attacks since September 11, 2001 killing hundreds and hundreds of people.

Remember the military guarding us night and day.

Remember and never forget.

 

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Hot Topics, Scrapbooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Never forget.

  1. Fannie says:

    I remember you working on this and admire you for having been able to put it together when the tragedy was still so fresh on everyone’s minds. I still have my collection of photos, articles, papers, etc. with which to create my layout documenting this horrific day in our lives, I just haven’t been able to do it yet. Maybe now, it’s time. Thanks for you post, Fae.

Leave a Reply

