Cream Cheese Pumpkin Bread

The northern hemisphere is currently rhapsodizing about the coming of autumn.  I’m right in there with them with the caveat of autumn allergies messing with my head, though.  (Damn rabbit brush..me hates you!)  When I think of autumn, I can smell the leaves burning from somebody’s back yard clean up.  I am over come with the amount of autumnal gourds available to purchase in the supermarkets.  I get a kick out of decorating with hay bales, fake spiders, witches, and chrysanthemum.  But what really gets me going is the opportunity to use pumpkin again.  I mean, really, who wants pumpkin pie in July?  Fae, put your hand down.  Who wants to even turn on the oven in the 95-degree heat outside?  You can imagine my glee in seeing blogs abounding with pumpkin recipes for this or that.  I found one that uses my love for pumpkin puree with my love of dairy.  Cream cheese to be exact.    Who could not love that?  The combo screams out to be licked off the spoon sitting on the kitchen floor, right?

So, here we begin with all the lovely ingredients:  (and my bad….I forgot to throw the nutmeg in for the class photo)

Here’s the SOP:  heat oven to 325-degrees and grease and flour two loaf pans.

Alrighty then.  Grab the softened cream cheese (no taste testing yet, my pretty!), sugar, flour, egg, and vanilla together.  Beat them all until smooth and creamy.  Oh my.

I dumped the sugar on last and covered it all up. Had to uncover at least the eggs. It was in their contract.

And now set them all aside..ignore them for the time being.  We’ll get back to them in a few more minutes.

They’ll stop pouting by then.

Next, in another bowl, blend 1 2/3 cup flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and nutmeg; and then set them aside as well.

looks like dirty flour

Because I want your kitchen to look like mine did yesterday, grab yet another bowl and combine the pumpkin puree, canola oil, eggs and sugar.  And beat these bad boys as well.  When all of your frustration is gone, stir the pumpkin mixture into the flour mixture until just combined.  Now clean up your dirty kitchen.

oh, Pumpkin!

Oh, no.  Wait…still more to do.

Pour half the pumpkin mixture evenly into both prepped pans and make sure you spread it into the corners.

doesn't look like much, does it?

Now this is the good part.  Spoon the cream cheese goodness on top of that pumpkin just laying there in the loaf pans.  Take a second to taste just a drop of that with your finger.

You’re welcome.

Why, yes, that IS a Hot Wheels car on my counter. Thanks for noticing.

Still have that pumpkin mixture sitting in the bowl?  Ok, now use the rest of that up on top of the cream cheese.  Don’t worry if it looks like there isn’t enough.  You’ll be fine.  I’m talking you down off the edge here.  With a knife, (this is the good part) swirl around the top pumpkin mixture with the cream cheese mixture until it looks really pretty and you want to ask it to the prom.

It’s time to put it in your Easy Bake Oven for 55-60 minutes or until a tooth pick comes clean…yadda yadda yadda.  The smell is wonderful; filling your kitchen and your front entry way with a great pumpkin aroma that will grab hold of anyone walking through the door.  They will love you.  Cool both loaves  completely because you will be putting on a cinnamon glaze next and you don’t want the glaze to cook from the bread heat.

This is my official taste tester. He beat me to the spoon.

Here is the glaze.  Eazy peazy.

We used to call it Royal Icing but I guess get it gets a new name with each recipe.  Combine the powdered sugar and half and half, stirring until it is all sticky sweet.  Add the cinnamon…go easy!  I used one full teaspoon of it and although it tastes great, I was sneezing hard from the fumes.  Pour all of this onto the bread loafs and Voila!  A snack that has come together rather easily, if not messily.

The cream cheese filling:

1 pkg softened cream cheese

1/2 c sugar

1 T all purpose flour

1 large egg

1/2 t vanilla

The pumpkin bread:

1 2/3 c flour

1 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

1/2 t ground cinnamon

 1/2 t ground cloves

1/4 t ginger

1/4 t nutmeg

1 1/4 c pumpkin puree

1/2 c canola oil

2 eggs

1 1/2 c sugar

(you can add nuts here either walnut or pecans but since these were gifts, I omitted them for food allergies)

Glaze:

1 c powdered sugar

2 1/2 T half and half

1/2 t to 1 full t of cinnamon

Preheat oven to 325 degrees and prep loaf pans with grease and flour.  In a medium mixing bowl, combine cream cheese, sugar, egg, vanilla and flour and beat until smooth and creamy.  Set aside and in a large bowl blend the following:  1 2/3 c flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and cloves.  Set this aside as well.  In another bowl, combine pumpkin, canola oil, eggs and sugar.  Beat well and then stir into the flour mixture until just combined.

Pour half of the pumpkin batter evenly into the two loaf pans spreading it all out into the corners.  Spoon the cream cheese mixture on top of that and then spoon the remaining pumpkin mixture on the cream cheese mixture.  Using a knife swirl the top pumpkin and the cream cheese layers together creating a marbled effect.

Bake for 55-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.  Cool bread in the pans for ten minutes and then place on a rack to cool completely.  While this is cooling prepare the cinnamon glaze.  Combine the powdered sugar and half and half, blending well.  Add the cinnamon and mix until dark and creamy.  Spread over bread loaves.

love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cream Cheese Pumpkin Bread

  1. Felia says:

    Oh. YUM!!!! I am totally making this. I have been hankering for some PUMPKIN!

  2. fannie1 says:

    So, you’ll be bringing this to Croptoberfest, yes? And also…I had to laugh out loud…you certainly DO spend quite a bit of time sitting in the middle of your kitchen floor with a spoon in your hand and your face in a bowl, do you not? In any event…this sounds amazing…and pretty stinkin’ easy! Thanks, Fae!

Leave a Reply

