It’s the Itty Bitty Box of Organics!

My boyfriend loves gardening.  No, let me rephrase that: his lifelong DREAM is to farm.  That’s right, FARM!  As in plow a field, plant seeds, water them, and watch them grow.  I’m dating Charles Ingalls.  (I’ve always wanted to.  Now I am living MY dream!)

Not the REAL Charles Ingalls. Nor the REAL Tyler.

Yum yum.  Sorry, I got a little distracted there.

So the boy loves to garden.  And he loves food.  Oh, wait.  That’s me.  But he loves food, too.  And together we can make some mean Mexican dinners.  When a friend of mine from out-of-town (shout out, Becki!) told me how she gets fresh, locally grown produce every week in Idaho, I thought that we had to have something like that here.  And we do!  It’s called Basket Case Organics, and I knew Tyler wouldn’t mind if I decided to spend a little of our hard-earned cash on fresh, organic food. (Although he is more concerned with local, sustainable food, organic is cool, too, he says.)

Every week (or however often you decide to get yours) they email you a link to a cool website that lets you pick and choose what you want in your basket that week.  We chose the Bitty Box because the two of us can’t eat that much vegetables in a week.  This is what we have coming in our box on Monday:

1 ea  Onions, Yellow
1 ea  Garlic, Bulb Colossal
1 ea  Celery
1.00 lb  Bananas
2 ea  Apples, Gala
2 ea  Pears, Bartlett
1 ea  Grapefruit, Ruby
2 ea  Limes
2 ea  Pluots
4 ea  Tomato, Slicing
1 ea  Herb, Basil
4 ea  Oranges, Valencia
1 ea  Herb, Cilantro

For $22.  And they deliver it to my door!  How awesome is that?

Last week, we had 2 oranges in the box, and this is the text I got at work the next day: “Holy shit! Have you tried an orange from the box yet?  Best orange I’ve ever had!  Eat yours tomorrow because they are perfectly ripe.”  I decided to have mine that night, and he hovered over me while I peeled it, and then he asked me for a bite.  After I took a bite, I told him no, of course.

It was a really good orange.

Needless to say this week, we doubled our orange order.  And can I tell you that one of my highlights during the week is getting the email from Basket Case Organics?  Silly, I know, but I guess I would rather be excited over organic food than heroin.  Or whatever the kids are smokin’ these days.

This entry was posted in Food, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s the Itty Bitty Box of Organics!

  1. Fae says:

    You’re going to have to let me know how the produce continues to hold up after several months…we go through POUNDS of veggies a week since Bob drinks a morning smoothie everyday that encompasses just about everything in the refrigerator.

  2. Felia says:

    Tyler makes a smoothie every morning, too!! He prefers the fruit smoothies, but maybe I can convince him to toss in some spinach once in a while. So far, so good on the quality, but I have a feeling that during the winter it will be a little hit or miss.

Leave a Reply

