Burgundy Mushrooms

I discovered this recipe while I was trolling through one of my favorite websites.  I was very intrigued that the prep time was 5 minutes.  And then I looked…the cook time was

9 HOURS!

Really?

Why would I want to cook anything for nine hours unless it was in the crock-pot?

I kept reading and while the ingredient list is relatively short, I was still stuck on the cooking length.

Oh what the heck?  I’ll try it anyway and I’m so glad I did!  I made it as an appetizer during the Christmas holidays and then again during a family reunion.  You know me, given the opportunity, it being January and all, we had a family reunion.  My Australian cousins came over..not for the mushrooms, but now if they knew I was cooking these, this would be the reason they’d visit.

These are that good.

You will get looks at the checkout counter when you buy four pounds of mushrooms.  Guaranteed.

Class Photo:

The only bad part about four pounds of mushrooms is that you have to clean four pounds of mushrooms.

And I know!  I know!  You’re supposed to ‘brush’ the grit off of them.  I just feel that they don’t get clean enough by doing it that way.  I always throw them into a colander and rinse, rinse, rinse.  I also discard the stem for this recipe.

If you want to save them for another recipe, go ahead.  Mine went into the garbage disposal.

After you’ve cleaned them, toss them into a BIG pot.  Throw in the rest of the ingredients.

I use unsalted butter because with the concentrated bouillon cubes, there is enough salt for it all.

I would suggest just using red wine.  Mushrooms and wine go together quite well.  This recipe cries out for red, though.

And these?  Oh my yes!  These will melt in your mouth when it’s all done cooking.  You will reek and love every minute of it.

Be gone, Vampires!!

Burgundy Mushrooms (PW’s blog)

4 pounds white button mushrooms

2 sticks unsalted butter

11/2 teaspoons Worcestershire Sauce  (miracle ingredient)

1 liter burgundy wine but other reds will do

4 whole beef bouillon cubes

4 whole chicken bouillon cubes

2 cups boiling water

1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

15 whole peeled garlic cloves

1-teaspoon dill seed

Completely wash all the mushrooms.  Add all ingredients together with mushrooms in a large pot.  Stir to combine.  Bring it all to a boil over medium high heat.  Reduce to simmer and cover for six hours.  Remove the lid and then continue cooking for an additional three hours.  These will be very dark in appearance.  Simmer until you’re ready to serve them.  You can dip some nice crusty bread in the juice, if you’d like.  They also will keep for several days in the fridge.

And the results are in!!

Really? 2 sticks of butter?!?

Love

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

