Do You Not Recognize Me? I Am a Yelp Elite!

I had a VERY unfortunate experience at a local restaraunt this weekend, and I am telling everyone about it, because frankly, I hate this new attitude of restaurateurs in Reno.  Apparently we Renoites are all idiots and don’t know good food when we see it, and we should just shut up and eat whatever is in front of us.  Sorry, pal.  I have a palate.  Try to use yours once in a while.

So here is my review on Yelp for Hill St. Grill, located on Hill St. in Reno:

I was going to give them two stars, but after thinking
about how awful I was treated by the owner, I decided one star would suffice.  And after reading some of the other reviews here, I see that I am not the only one who has had a horrible experience with the food, owner, and chef here.

When we arrived we told them that we needed a table for four but alas did not have a reservation.  We waited while they figured out if they could seat us, which was fine, and expected on a Friday night.  We were seated at a table in the back and was very happy with it.  Our server arrived to take our drink orders, and came back with delicious drinks, as well as a cheese plate we ordered as an appetizer.  Again, we were happy.

Then it started to go bad.  We waited for quite some time to place our food order; when we finally did, none of us were happy with our orders.  I ordered a salad with poached
pears and candied pecan encrusted goat cheese.  What I got was a salad with a half of a poached pear and goat cheese encrusted with raw walnuts.  I am allergic to walnuts and I sent the salad back.  The owner came out and basically called me a liar and that “there isn’t a walnut in the house!”  Regardless, I wasn’t happy with the salad, as it wasn’t what was described on the menu.  After a while, the waiter came back and asked how everything else was.  It was quiet at the table.  Silence.  And I said, “Eeeehhh.”  My friend piped up and said the risotto was crunchy.  (I had commented that Gordon Ramsey would never let crunchy risotto leave the kitchen, but I guess we aren’t supposed to expect good food in Reno??)

When the bill came, my salad was still on there, even though I only ate the pear, but the risotto had been comped. I guess if a
customer complains about the food, and they are told basically to eat it anyway and stop complaining, we still have to pay for it, even if no eats it.  Still, the bill was WAY too much for what we got and how little we enjoyed it. I left still hungry, which upset me because I HATE giving people my hard earned money
when they didn’t earn it.

The only saving grace was our server: Jake (I hope that is his name!)  He was nice, attentive, and apologetic.  Unfortunately,
I will never be coming back here, even if they change their name to something else.  And I will be telling all of my friends to not come here, either.

One thing that I found appalling that I didn’t mention in my review was the fact that they charged $10 for a spinach salad with herbed goat cheese medallions.  Really?  I can make that for less than $3 a plate!  Here’s how I did it.

Micaela’s Salad  with Herbed Goat Cheese Medallions

8 oz goat cheese
dill, thyme and green onions, finely chopped

Mix together in a bowl, and place in plastic wrap.  Mold into a log.  Slice.  Serve with a salad.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I seriously ate a salad with this on it…..WITH NO SALAD DRESSING because it is THAT good!!  I know some of you may not like goat cheese, but my point here is that just because it looks fancy, and it costs more than a middle class citizen’s hourly wage, does NOT mean that it is difficult to make!

Nor does it mean that the owner of the restraunt gets to be a jack ass to me, because I will make him pay in the only way I know how: word of mouth.

This entry was posted in Food, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Do You Not Recognize Me? I Am a Yelp Elite!

  1. Fae says:

    I know that we talked about your experience here, I thought, what a jerk that guy was. And now, I’m almost to the point of being slightly belligerent about it and going in just to try it. And then let them know how awful the reviews are on the Yelp site. I’ll let you know if we go….

  2. Fannie says:

    Oh, you had me at the risotto! We were once at a well known National Chain Italian restaurant with the initials OG here in Medford (which, stealing a phrase from an former employer of mine (thanks Perry DiLoreto) is, quite frankly an epicurean wasteland; Perry was talking about Reno at the time, not Medford, but I’m stealing the phrase…and that was twenty years ago, I’m assuming Reno has improved dramatically…Medford…hmmmm, not so much). When asked how our meal was, I was honest with the waiter and told him I was very disappointed in the risotto; sorry, but I’m a freak when it comes to risotto. The manager then came over to drill me about the risotto; I told him that frankly, it tasted like it came out of a Minute Rice box. He proceeded to leave the table, go into the food prep area and return with the freakin’ box that this “risotto” supposedly came from! Are you kidding me? Are you going to be belligerant with me about the risotto? I’m sorry, but it’s OG, you can’t tell me they stood over the risotto, patiently adding 1/2 cup of broth at a time, painstakingly stirring until all the liquid was absorbed before adding more (all the while sipping a nice glass of Pinot Gris). If you can’t do it right, don’t do it. Oops, sorry, Felia…I jumped on your Rant Railroad. Ok. I’m done now.

  3. Fae says:

    Valium, anyone?
    ;-p

Leave a Reply

