Coconut Pecan Chocolate Bars

Months ago while I was blog hopping, I ran across this recipe.  It sounded very much like it would taste like a Mounds candy bar, the most delicious candy in the world.  Oh, yes it is!  And since my husband and son had a hunting trip planned, I thought that this would be a nice treat for them to have after a long day out in the fields.  These are very easy to make with not a lot of ingredients and just a few steps.  It has the one ingredient that will turn my head each and every time:  sweetened condensed milk.  YUM.  So without further ado, here is the recipe for you.

Cast of Characters:

See? Only 8 ingredients.

This is probably the hardest part of the whole recipe.  Smashing cookie dough down.  And you will get some stuck to your fingers.  Oh, my.  What to do?  Lick it off, of course!! Then cook it a bit.   A tiny bit.  This is when your kitchen will begin to smell wonderful.

Line your dish with foil and spray it with Pam for easy bar removal

It looks thin but it will puff up when cooked

Next up:  you will make this little mixture to pour onto the pre-baked cookie dough.  And when you spread this onto the warm dough?  Just let your face fall into it.  Oh my…..If you can’t tell, I’m a big proponent of tasting as I cook.  I can’t help it, my mom always did and I learned from her.  Blame her, not me.

make sure it gets 'foamy'...only takes a little while

Hello, Lover.

Although the recipe only calls for 20-24 minutes of baking to set this up, I found that at our altitude in Reno, it required a full hour to set up.  Trust me, you do not want this to jiggle at all for the next step.

Really? Who needs this baked? Not me.

Aside from all the setting up and all the jiggling, now it’s time for the chocolate!  And the melting of the chocolate!  This is also where I found Mr. Fae dipping cashews into the melted chocolate and trying to act innocent.  It doesn’t work.  He can’t pull off ‘innocent’ when there is chocolate on his mustache.  Anyway, after the melting (and running your husband out of the kitchen with a spoon in your hand), pour this over the filling and spread it to cover.  It will be a thin covering of chocolate..you won’t want any more.  Then just throw it into the refrigerator for an hour to set up.  Cut into bars and enjoy!

This is a photo that my husband and son took of the nightly dessert:  Darioush Shiraz and these bars.  They knew it would make me happy.

This is how they go out hunting and camping. Right.

And here is the finished product that will be winging its way to some lucky person who really, really, really wants these bars…

Merry Christmas!

Coconut Pecan Chocolate Bars

1 (16.5 oz) roll of refrigerated chocolate chip cookie dough

2 large eggs

2 t vanilla extract

1 (14 oz) can sweetened condensed milk

1 (15 oz) can coconut pecan frosting

1 cup coarsely chopped pecans

1 (11.5 oz) bag milk chocolate chips

2 T vegetable shortening

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a 15x10x1 inch baking dish with foil and spray with Pam.

Crumble the cookie dough into the baking dish and press to cover bottom of pan as evenly as possible.  It will be thin.  Bake for about 9 minutes or until dough is light golden brown and slightly puffed.  Remove from oven and cool for five minutes.

In the bowl of a mixer, beat eggs on medium high until foamy.  Add vanilla, frosting, and sweetened condensed milk.  Beat on medium speed for one minute or until well blended.  Pour and spread evenly over crust.  Sprinkle with pecans and bake for 60 minutes or until top is deep golden brown and center is set.  Cool for five minutes.

In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine chips and shortening.  Stir until chips are melted and mixture is smooth.  Pour over filing and spread to cover.  Refrigerate about an hour or until chocolate is set.  Cut into bars.

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coconut Pecan Chocolate Bars

  1. JoAnn says:

    These are my favorite! Again, anything with chocolate!!!!!

  2. Stacey Coffman says:

    Yummy! Those look wonderful, I think I will definitely have to give these a try.

    Lorna – I also want to GOO recipe that you made at Croptoberfest. I thought you said you had posted it on the blog, but I did not see it.

    Hugs,

    Stacey

    • Fae says:

      Stacey…it was posted on June 3 and called Courtney’s Goo…

      • Stacey Coffman says:

        Thank you for pointing me in the right direction Lorna. I found it and already printed it, I plan on making a batch of this for our Christmas party.

        Hope you are enjoying the holiday season ❤

        Stac

  3. Linda says:

    Oh and those would go so perfectly with a hot cup of tea…..right NOW! I have to quit reading these posts at this time of day as I slober all over my keyboard! Wonderful recipe! Thank you so much Fae!

Leave a Reply

