These Are A Few of My Favorite Things…

Well, as you know from our various posts circling around the topic of FOOD, we have been pretty busy here in the Ol’ Idiosyncrazies Test Kitchens. Not long ago, I realized that one of the things that makes cooking and creating in the kitchen so enjoyable for me is having the right “tools.” So, I thought that this would be a great time to share with you some of My Favorite Things…

Here goes…we’ll start with the little guys first…

I LOVE these items…my Pampered Chef measuring teaspoon and tablespoon. The measuring teaspoon and tablespoon each have this little “glide” that can measure off portions along the notched spoon in order to measure ingredients in increments of 1/8 tsp up to one full tablespoon. Ingenious! No more digging through the gadget drawer for the 3/4 tsp!

I also LOVE LOVE LOVE the Pampered Chef measuring cups! They are held together with this ingenious little leveling gadget; it snaps them all together and, when snapped off, can level off your measured dry ingredients. And remember the rule; do NOT scoop with your measuring cup; fluff, spoon, sweep, tap, level (I told you in an earlier post, I will haunt you with this)!

Also from my Pampered Chef collection (no, I don’t sell Pampered Chef, although I should)…two great tools; one is the little mini cookie spatula! I LOVE this baby…just perfect for lifting cookies off of the cookie sheet without smashing the soft cookie next to it. Also pictured here, for no particular reason, is the Pampered Chef acrylic scraper. This is a little freebie gift they include in your order. It’s intended to be used to scrape pans without scratching…this thing is awesome…I’ve used it to get all kinds of nitty gritty things scraped up…Thank goodness I own about three of them.

Another favorite of mine is this handy measuring device. Yes it, too, is Pampered Chef. I believe it was Fae who gave this to me years ago. One end can be used to measure dry/solids pushing the bottom up, much like a “Push Up” popsicle to pop the measured contents out, the other end us used to measure liquids. LOVE this thing!

And yes, I do own some favorite things that are NOT Pampered Chef. This dynamic duo from King Arthur has made a pie crust  believer out of me (which was not an easy feat). The rolling pin is acrylic and perfectly weighted to roll out the most even pie dough, cookie dough or pizza crust! And the acrylic mat? I can’t say enough about this baby…again, without this, I’d still be searching frantically in “my grocer’s refrigerator section” for those Pillsbury pie dough packages.

Another “must have” for me…my coveted roll of parchment paper. Believe me, once you have used parchment paper to line a baking sheet you will NEVER go back to non-stick spray again!

And, last but not least…given to me by the most generous, most thoughtful, most innovative, most creative, most intuitive, mind-reading husband I know (“here, Honey, this is the one I want, here it is, right here on the instant rebate coupon I happened to pick up from Costco today just one mere week before my birthday…”)…

I know, I’ve featured pictures of this probably as many times as I’ve featured pictures of my one and only grandchild; that’s shameful.

Anyway, there you have it, friends, some of my favorite things that will help me spread some holiday cheer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

