Double Baked Roquefort Potatoes

I thought that I would sneak one more recipe in for the holidays for you.  This has been a go-to potato dish for our family for more years than I can count.  In fact, during our Silver Palate days, Fannie and I would concoct meals that had this in it many times.  Or was it Bon Appetit?  I can’t remember.

Oh my. I'm sure we still look like this. Right? Hello? Is this thing on? Testing....

Anyway, it’s an easy one to prep the day before if you’re doing it for a holiday meal and running out of time.  Or you can prep it for crowds of people like I did here.  The recipe today is for 8 but in a few of my photos, you’ll see how many I’m making it for….18 potatoes equals 36 servings.  YIKES.  Yes, I brought these to our family Christmas party and we have a big family!

Class photo:

Let's see, potato, dairy, dairy, dairy, and more dairy. Sounds good to me.

See?  Just a little dairy.

Poke a few holes into the potatoes, not a lot, just three or four holes is what it takes and cook them until they are completely done.  We don’t want any hard, uncooked potatoes to mash up, now do we?

After they are cooked through, slice them in half and start scooping out the insides into a large bowl.  Try not to break or tear the shell.

Add the sour cream and blue cheese to the potato guts and mash away.  You can use either a hand masher or an electric mixer.  I prefer to use the electric mixer to get it all blended well with no potato lumps.

Once it’s mixed, grab a big spoon and start filling those shells up. Don’t heap it on; just fill to the top of the shell.  Trust me on this one.

Next, sprinkle on the salt, pepper, parsley, Parmesan cheese and a pat of butter.  If you’re making this ahead of time, now is the time to put them in the refrigerator.   If not, it’s time to re-bake these delicious things. 

This is the finished product.  Now I can’t eat a full potato of these, only a half potato because they are so rich and filling.  My girls only eat ¼ of a potato.  So play it by ear, if you have big eaters, count one potato for each of them; otherwise, one potato will serve two people.

Enjoy!

Double Baked Roquefort Potatoes

  • 6 10- to 12-ounce russet potatoes, scrubbed
  • 2/3 cup crumbled Roquefort cheese
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 6 tablespoons freshly grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons (1/4 stick) butter, cut into small pieces
  • Chopped fresh parsley

Preheat oven to 375°F. Pierce potatoes with fork. Place potatoes directly on oven rack. Bake until potatoes are tender, about 1 hour 15 minutes. Transfer to baking sheet; cool 5 minutes.

Halve each potato lengthwise. Scoop flesh from potatoes, leaving 1/4-inch-thick shell; place flesh in large bowl. Add crumbled Roquefort cheese and sour cream to potato flesh; mash until smooth. Season mixture with salt and pepper.

Spoon potato mixture into 8 potato shells, mounding slightly and dividing equally (reserve remaining 4 potato shells for another use). Place potatoes on baking sheet. Sprinkle Parmesan cheese over potatoes. Dot with butter. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover and refrigerate.)

Preheat oven to 400°F. Bake potatoes until heated through and beginning to brown on top, about 25 minutes. Sprinkle parsley over potatoes and serve.

Merry Christmas!

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Double Baked Roquefort Potatoes

  1. Fannie says:

    First of all…YES, of COURSE we still look the same. I also laugh whenever I see that sweater on you; I think we should have dressed as twinsies that night. And I do believe this was when we had transitioned from Silver Palate to Bon Appetit. I will also offer up my own testimonial here; these potatoes are AWESOME! All of that dairy, dairy and more dairy! Who knew dairy could come in so many different variations…from the blue cheese right on down to the pat of butter! But alas, Fae, the holidays are soon going to be “behind us” as in, I look back, turning my head and looking down over one shoulder…OMG, what is that mass that is sticking out below my non-existent waistline? Yes, after we are done with the caramel squares, the horseradish soup, the prime rib, and these amazing potatoes (not to mention all the fine wine to wash it down with) I do believe it is time for our January Lifestyle Challenge. But until then, pass me the potatoes, will you?

  2. Fae says:

    HA!! So far, I’ve been good(ish) but with Christmas parties and going ‘out’ to dinner, my eating habits have taken a slight nudge to the bad. Seriously, who can pass up these potatoes? Not me or my family!!

  3. Stacey Coffman says:

    Oh YUM! I think I’ll have to serve these with our Prime Rib for Christmas dinner. . . so glad you shared.

    Happy Holidays!
    Stac

  4. Anonymous says:

    These potatoes were a big hit with my family. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe. I’ll definitely be making these again.

    Merry Christmas and wishes for a wonderful new year.

    Stacey

Leave a Reply

