My New Secret Addiction: Hoarders

At first I was petrified, disgusted and amazed.  I don’t want to watch how messy other people’s houses are!

But, secretly, I do.  Oh, I really, really do.

I DVR Hoarders. I know all of the psychologists “trained in obsessive-compulsive behaviors, specializing in hoarding.”  I know all of the organizers by name.  And I love this show.  I can’t stop watching it.  Maybe because I know I will never be that bad.  Ever.  Even if I get sick and am in bed for weeks, I will still make ask Biff to clean.  (He’ll do it, too, if I just say: “Hoarders.”)

I can’t watch it while I am eating or cooking dinner, because it makes me pretty sick to my stomach.  In fact, most of the time it infuriates me.  The only time I didn’t get physically ill watching the show was when one of the hoarders (a cute, sweet, little, old lady) had all of her stuff neatly organized into clear plastic bins.  Her house was clean and decorated nicely.  There was just a lot of stuff.  She is NOT the norm.  Most of these people have their houses condemned by the city or county after the show leaves because the house literally will fall in on them without all the stuff inside to hold it up.

Yup.  Their crap is holding the house up.

Let me show you what I think is a mess.  Here are some pictures of my house, and this freaks me out.  I try not to make too big of a fuss about it because in the grand scheme of things, I now know that this isn’t that bad.  But it makes my skin crawl.  But at least my load bearing walls are holding my house up, and not my stuff!

It's Messy. Can you see she is in mid-jump!?

This is what I call A Mess!

This entry was posted in Hot Topics, TV. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My New Secret Addiction: Hoarders

  1. Fannie says:

    Oh Felia, you made me laugh out loud! You are a girl after my own heart!

  2. JoAnn says:

    I wish my house was THAT messy! :o)

  3. Fae says:

    I refuse to watch that show. Just the previews give me the heebie jeebies! It’s like watching those people who weight 8,000 pounds get lifted out of their beds by cranes….blech!

Leave a Reply

