Ahh, The New Year. A Clean Slate!

I really detest New Year’s Resolutions.  Mainly because by mid-February, I am so bored with whatever I decided to do that year, that I give up.  I think my main problem is I am too easily bored! (This was always a refrain from my younger years: MOOOOOM!  I’m bored! Her reply: “I’ll find you something to do, and I bet you won’t like it.”  She was right because it always entailed dusting, which I detest.)  So this year, I am trying to just be healthier, and do more fun things.  In many different ways.  That way, if I don’t exercise, but if I ate well, or brushed and flossed my teeth three times that day, then I won’t feel like a failure.  I am calling this my back up plan.

So, this year, I am not “dieting” per se (although Miss Fae’s paleo diet IS intriguing!), I am just cutting back on the things I know are not good for me: diet soda, refined sugars, wheat and corn-based items, and fast food.

For those of you who know me well, the whole giving up diet soda is going to be hard.  I have tried this once before, but I had cigarettes to fall back on as a back up vice.  I quit smoking, and when I gave up carbs completely, I wished it was easy as quitting smoking, because it was that much easier for me!  I made the switch to diet sodas back then, thinking it was a step in the right direction, but now I see that it probably isn’t any better than regular soda.  Sugar and fake sugars are the same, so DAMN! I have to at least cut back to a can a day.  (Because I love soda so much, I drink more than that in a day. Talk about unhealthy!)

Oh, and I guess I should work out more, too.  I have found that I can starve myself all day, eat nothing but healthy, healthy stuff, but if I don’t exercise, my body just converts that good stuff into fat anyway.  So I better do both.

So this year’s blogging will probably contain some healthier recipes from me and tales of exciting things I have decided to do to make myself feel a little more useful on this planet than just a blob of me.

This entry was posted in Hot Topics, Rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ahh, The New Year. A Clean Slate!

  1. Fae says:

    Yea! Good for you! Sounds eerily familiar like mine: Get Better. We’ll have to keep checking in with each other to see how we’re doing. And if you can…just don’t cut back…cut OUT those grains. You’ll feel tons better.

Leave a Reply

