Here’s another fine mess you’ve gotten me into, Stanley.

Sometimes I really feel like either Laurel or Hardy with a certain blogger I know and love.  Very, very recently I was pushed inspired by her December masthead and didn’t realize it until my daughter started whining.  Please realize that my daughter is 27 years old and 11 months pregnant right now so whining is a constant.  But as she and I were reading one of the current blogs here on IdiosynCrazies, she complained that I never put out our little Christmas houses any more during the holiday season.  I looked incredulously at her.

“I put IT out every single year; right there on the counter.”

“No, not that one.  All of them.  Where’s the rest of them?”

“Um, there is no ‘rest of them’.  It’s just that one.  That’s all we’ve ever had.”

“uh huh.  We had a bunch of them.  I know we did.”

I was pretty sure that at this point she either needed food or to go into labor.  I wasn’t sure which.  Then it struck me.  She grew up seeing those miniature houses as a little girl with her dear friend Fandy and those holiday decorations are co-mingled with the memories of decorations at our house.  During the Jurassic Period (1980’s) I painted the one we have and Mr. Fannie painted the entire freaking village.  Why I stopped at just having one little cottage, I have no recollection.  Maybe painting wasn’t my thing?  Maybe it was labor intensive?  (Like that has ever stopped me!  Please see December posts on Christmas stockings.)

Oh jeez…Mother’s guilt struck.  I’m robbing my children of some of the Christmas memories they have!  Chances are mere photos will be the only way they can see those little houses lit up all aglow during the Christmas holidays.

Before you can type eBay, I was on it.  The kits in question were called Wee Crafts.  And that, my dears, started the problem.  Wee Crafts went out of business when idiots like me stopped painting little villages.  The only way I could have them for my kids’ psyche was to bid on them.  Did you know that there are crazies out there in eBay-land?  They would up my bid by one stupid dollar!

Every.

Single.

Time.

Then, there are those who were selling their Aunt Mildred’s collection already painted.  Did I want to buy one already painted or one not painted and lovingly kept in the original box untouched for all these 20+ years?  Or one that was partially painted?  By a squirrel?

It kept me up at night, I tell you.

Some people, I won’t name names here, went so far as to bid $50 on a RARE hunting lodge village domain that eventually sold for $95.00.

People, they are all RARE.  They went out of business!!

::focus, focus, focus::

So, here’s the deal.  I bid and won four additions to my solitary (so far) outpost.  I have one outstanding bid for some Wee People to live in my Wee Outpost in Wee Christmas land.

As soon as I can get down to Michael’s to replace the petrified paint included in my Wee Do-It-Yourself Lobotomy project, I will start the construction.  Hopefully, with a full year’s time, I will have them complete for next December for the unveiling.  Sitting right next to that other Christmas stocking I have to make for the new grandbaby.

The village as it is now. Looks like someplace a contractor went belly up and walked away from the project.

 

The original Santa's Workshop that I painted BC. (Before Children)

 

 

 

The two I have to paint. The schoolhouse lovingly wrapped and protected still came broken into 5 parts. I'll just say that Wee Christmas Land had a Wee 7.5 Earthquake.

And, finally, Winchester Mystery House and the Haunted Train Depot. Oy vey. The things we do for our kids.

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in DIY. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Here’s another fine mess you’ve gotten me into, Stanley.

  1. Fannie says:

    Well, I don’t know if we should leave the blogging world and just go for stand up comedy, or what…but this post is HYSTERICAL! I think that we should travel to Reno, Mr. Fannie can bring his two unfinished projects, and the two of you can sit down together and share paints and stories and Mr. Fae and I will cook for you and drink wine!

    • Fae says:

      But the thing is, we are probably the only ones who crack ourselves up!! And the best part is learning that Mr. Fannie as TWO MORE HOUSES TO PAINT!!!!! yeeha! I have only one thing to say:

      COME ON DOWN!!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    In fact, I believe the response to the most recent addition was “What? I REALLY thought we were done…REALLY!” Way to go Mamma Fannie, you will have that village complete in about 25.3 years.

Leave a Reply

