The Sleepover

*The following is a guest post from a dear friend and fellow scrapbooker, Farie

“Being a Mom is like being pecked to death by chickens.” This was a saying my friend Kathy Curry would paint on cute little signs that she sold at craft bazaars. At the time, I didn’t get it. Now I do.

Nearly four years ago, my husband and I embarked on an adventure. We began fostering, and then adopted, our niece, Adrianna. There are so many wonderful things that she has brought into our lives! Truly, we can’t remember what our lives were like without her.

With that being said, however, I have discovered that there are a few things I wouldn’t mind experiencing again if only for a day…

#5 A day when hubby and I can have a conversation without our munchkin joining the conversation in the middle of it and asking 20 questions, which more than likely were answered during the part of the conversation she missed.

#4 A day when I am on the phone and the munchkin actually waits until I get off before she asks me something important like “Mom, do you know where my toe socks are that I wore last Tuesday?”, instead of putting a post-it note three inches from my face while I’m chatting. Let’s face it, if I hadn’t been on the phone, said important question wouldn’t have been asked.

#3 A day when I don’t have to repeat myself for the umpteenth time. For example:

  • Did you wash your hands?
  • Did you brush your teeth?
  • Did you feed the dogs and cats?
  • Are you really this forgetful, or are you just doing this to ensure my stay at the state hospital?

#2 A day when I can say “no” to something, and the auto-reply isn’t “Why not?!” or “How come?!” I have come to the conclusion that this is why parents end up resorting to pulling the “Because I said so!” card. We’re just plain tired of either: a) having to give a reason or b) tired of having the 33rd teachable moment of the day. I’m telling you, these can be over-rated.

#1 A day when I can go into the bathroom without having a munchkin tap or knock on the door with a question similar to the one in wish #4.

It took some time, but eventually I discovered that if I wanted or needed a reprieve, there was a solution. It’s called a sleepover.

I don’t know who the person was that invented this simple and economic solution, but I am pretty sure it was an exhausted mother who didn’t have Calgon ( it wouldn’t matter if she did anyhow, see wish #1) or Wellbutrin at her disposal. What I do know is that if I was nuts enough to have more children, I would name them after her.

Funny thing is, once you’ve experienced one of these mini vacations, your long term memory becomes shot, and then you invite someone else’s child to your house for a sleepover. Then, if you’re really lucky, the recipient of your memory loss, pays it forward and you get another unscheduled bathroom date, phone date, etc.

Which reminds me, I need to make a call…

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Sleepover

  1. Fannie says:

    Oh Farie you had me at Being pecked by chickens! Excellent post! Thanks for pinc hitting for me! You need to consider being a regular contributor

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great post Farie! You are a great momma, and Adri is one lucky girl to have you and Phil.

    Felaine

Leave a Reply

