Lasagne Soup. Yes, that’s right. Lasagne Soup.

Who ever came up with this soup is a certifiable genius, it’s that good.  And it’s muy yummo on those nights when the winter wind is blowing and you’re all cozy at home.

I fixed this soup last year during one of our many family reunions for lunch.  It disappeared.  I also tripled the amount because there were a lot of people to serve and we’re all ‘good’ eaters!  You’ll notice in my photographs here that I used Rice lasagna.  This was a nod to my daughter who is gluten free and I made this soup for her and her family.  (To be eaten after the baby was born.  As of this writing…still waiting.)  I also used chicken Italian sausage.  After trying both versions, you can’t tell the difference!  I don’t think that I would use all hot sausage but perhaps a mixture of both would be very tasty.  You make it and let me know how it turns out, ok?

I know it sounds like there is bunches and bunches of onions in the recipe, but trust me…use all three cups!  The onion I used here weighed over one pound and I only needed half of it to measure the three cups.  The Mother of all Onions.

And it’s really easy to just mix all the spices together in a little bowl and then dump into the pan.  Spreads the tastiness evenly throughout.

Once you add the tomato paste, don’t leave the stove.  It turns rusty brown relatively quickly. 

After you add the broth and diced tomatoes….this lusciousness starts filling the air.  You’ll want to savor it with your face directly over the pot, it smells that good.  Of course, I’m a huge fan of garlic, onions, tomatoes, sausage…well, I’m a fan of food.

Now, break your lasagna noodles into bite size pieces in a separate bowl.  Once the sauce has simmered for 30 minutes, add the pasta noodles to it and cook until done.  I personally don’t care for ‘al dente’.  I like ‘al soft-all-the-way-through’ so that’s how I cook it.  Then add the basil, salt and pepper.

Putting the Cheesy Yum (sorry for the ‘cheesy’ title, but I didn’t make it up!) together is a snap and it means that it’s almost time to dig in.

Yes, looks like more than required of that Parmesan, doesn't it? I'm a giver.

Put a generous helping of the Yum into your soup bowl, then ladle the hot soup over it.  Add to that a spoonful of mozzarella and voila…you’re done!  Pour yourself a Cab or Merlot, grab a slice of garlic bread and you’re good to go!

Lasagne Soup 

Soup Ingredients

2 t olive oil

1.5 lbs mild Italian sausage

3 c chopped onions

4 garlic cloves, minced

2 t dried oregano

½ t crushed red pepper flakes

2 T tomato paste

1 28oz can fire roasted diced tomatoes

2 bay leaves

6 c chicken stock

8 oz lasagna noodles

½ c finely chopped frash basil leaves

salt, pepper to taste

Cheesy Yum ingredients

8 oz ricotta cheese

½ c grated parmesan cheese

salt, pepper

2 c shredded mozzarella cheese

Directions:

Heat olive oil in a large pot over medium heat.  Add sausage, breaking it into bite size pieces and brown it all up.  Add onions and cook until translucent, then add garlic, oregano, and red pepper flakes.  Cook for about one minute.  Add tomato paste and stir well to incorporate.  Cook for about 4 minutes, or until the tomato paste turns a brownish color.

Add diced tomatoes, bay leaves, and the chicken stock.  Combine and bring to a boil.  Reduce  the heat and let simmer for 30 minutes.  Add uncooked pasta and cook until desired doneness.  Do not over cook or simmer too long as the pasta will get mushy.  Stir in the basil and salt and pepper to taste.

While the pasta is cooking, prepare the Cheesy Yum!  Combine all ingredients into small bowl.

To serve:  place a dollop of Cheesy Yum into the bowl of a soup bowl, ladle the hot soup over that and then sprinkle the mozzarella onto the top of it all.

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

