Guacamole Salsa

You are so gonna love me today!

This is THE best guacamole I have ever had in my life.  Are you watching the Superbowl on Sunday?  Have this at hand.  Having a Superbowl party?  Serve this with either veggies or chips and your guests will love you.  Going to a Superbowl party and need to bring a dish?  Bring this and the other party goers will be like, “Giants who?  Don’t bother me, I’m eating!”

I literally clicked on this recipe in error while looking for a Carnitas recipe.  Which I found, by the way, but will NOT make again.  After reading this one I thought that it sounded easy and I’m a pushover for anything that has avocados in it.  Well, that and Eagle Brand milk.  Since Wednesday I have made this twice.  Why?  Because I scarfed the first one down myself and didn’t share much of it with Mr. Fae.  Guilt and a small bit of curiosity to experiment with it made me make it again.  Oh, and to share with YOU, of course!

Here is what you need to become the Glorious Queen in your kitchen…

The ingredient list is small but the taste is huge.

De-husk (is that a word?) the tomatillos and rinse under water to remove the stickiness.  This is the first time I’ve ever cooked with tomatillos and can kick myself for not using them before.  The recipe called for 5-6 of them.  The first time I made it, I only used 5.  I fell in love with them so this time I used six and boy am I glad I did.

That husk just peels right off

The original recipe calls for epazote leaves OR cilantro.  Since my grocery store’s ethnic variety of vegetables are limited, cilantro it was.  I only used about 1/4 cup.  I happen to love the taste of cilantro but I’m in the minority here.  Start with what looks like 1/4 cup and adjust for taste.  You will be tasting this many times until it suits you.

The original recipe also calls for either 2 serrano or 2 jalapeños.  Knowing my family, I opted for the jalapeño and limited it to one.  Again, this is where you can start mild and adjust for your own taste buds.  Rinse the chiles and de-seed if you’re afraid of the heat.  However!  Save the seeds and add to the mixture after tasting it if you need more punch.  I didn’t do this the first time I made it and it was ….mild.  I knew that we needed just a tad more zip and ended up adding one half of the seeds I had saved.  It was perfect.  A note here about tasting this stuff:  taste and wait a minute before adding anything else.  The heat sneaks up on you.  You might find that not adding any seeds is perfect or after waiting you will want to add 1/4 of the seeds.  Take it slow.

You can see how fat the chile was

Save those seeds!

Add a little lime..please use fresh, but in a pinch, you can use bottled.  It’s just that sometimes the bottle stuff has sat in the refrigerator for so long that the taste is less than stellar.  Or so I’ve been told.  ::cough::

Now mix all this stuff up in your blender.  I use the Vitamix and have no problem with stubborn tomatillos.  Sometimes a blender will not have enough oomph and you’ll need to use a wooden spoon to prod those things into submission.  Do not add water; this will  liquify on its own.  Just be patient.

At last, add the avocado.  Pure bliss.  Now taste.  Does it need more of those jalapeño seeds?  This is the time to add and re-blend.  I ended up using 1 1/2 avocados while the original recipe calls for only one.  Remember?  I told you I love avocados.

Before avocados

After avocados and seeds added

All of this made about 1 1/2 cups of salsa.  I’m guaranteeing that you will want to make more.  Why?  Because the first batch will be for your guests and the second batch will be for you and me to eat while sitting on your kitchen floor.

Guacamole Salsa

1/2 pound tomatillos, 5-6, husked, rinsed, and coarsely chopped

1/4 cup cilantro

2 small garlic cloves, peeled

1/4 cup coarsely chopped white onion

1-2 fresh serrano or jalapeño chiles, coarsely chopped…seeds reserved for the brave

1 T freshly squeezed lime juice

1/2 t kosher salt

2 ripe avocados, halved and pitted

Put the tomatillos into the blender jar first, then add the cilantro, garlic, onion, chiles, lime juice and salt.  Blend until very smooth.  Scoop the avocado flesh out with a spoon into the blender and blend until smooth again.  Add the chile seeds if necessary.  Season to taste with either more chile, lime juice and salt, blend once more and serve.

If not using immediately, merely cover with plastic wrap pressed against the surface.  Let come to room temperature before you serve it.

Recipe courtesy of Epicurious and Roberto Santibanez

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

