A day late…

The following is a post written by our dear friend, Farie

“A day late and a dollar short.” This has been my motto for most of my life.

I remember while I was in high school, many of my friends were going to REM and Oingo Boingo concerts, while I was still listening to Barry Manilow. I didn’t become acquainted with those bands until a couple of years out of high school. I was in such bad shape, culturally, I believe I may have been on the only person who fell asleep during a live Berlin concert at Disneyland’s Grad night.

Although I can certainly sense cultural pressure to have the newest or latest must-have, I have never been one to jump on that band wagon, and neither has my husband.

My husband and I waited until Black Friday of 1999 to buy our first PC, again, trailing far behind our friends and their children. We always used the excuse “we are waiting until we don’t have to format our floppy disks.” Now, I wonder how we got away without having one for so long, and I think I would happily give up my television for my computer. When I don’t have computer access, I might as well be on a deserted island without . Phooey…

Our next great leap into the technological age was our purchase of a cell phone. That was the year of 2001, shortly after 9-11. I got a job that year that included a half-hour commute and we decided it might be a good thing to have for safety reasons. Besides, I live in Oregon, and as they say in Oregon, “there are two types of Oregonians: those who have hit a deer, and those who will hit a deer.” This is yet another item I can’t imagine living without. I probably don’t use this amazing gadget as much as other people may, but I still couldn’t do without it. I sometimes resent that it wasn’t around when I was kid. There were a ton of wasted hours that were used “checking in.” We will continue to be one of the holdouts, too, when it comes to giving our daughter her first cell phone. My child has enough distractions to keep us both on our toes until the 7th grade, at least!

So, I guess it’s no surprise that I am only now reading the Twilight Series. You know, the series that was on the best seller list from 2005 to 2008 that chronicles the life of a plain high school girl, her gorgeous vampire boyfriend and her best friend, who just happens to be a werewolf.

Well, this latest foray of mine into pop culture was definitely brought on by pop culture pressure.

It didn’t help that my friend Susan at work, who is my age, is probably Robert Pattinson’s number one fan…she even has a picture of him as her screensaver. Yes, sad to say, I folded like a wet taco. I asked her for the first in the series, and the rest, they say, is history. Boy, was I surprised as how easily I sunk my teeth into this series! Shameless pun aside, I am so glad that I gave into peer/pop culture pressure on this one, even if it was nearly half a decade after everyone else did.

So, the next time I wonder if I’m missing the proverbial boat, I will repeat the following mantra as I am sure to do again sometime in the future, when the wagon has once again passed me by… “better late than never.”

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Books, Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A day late…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Tiff, I am totally surprised that you folded over Robert Pattinson. I really thought you and I had similar taste in men and I am totally team Jacob . . . more rough, ragged, and “built”, yet with a soft, sentimental side. Definitely a far cry from the scrawny, robotic, albino Edward.

    Just sayin . . . . :0)

    Stac

    • Farie says:

      Well, to be truthful, I’m torn. I don’t like Edward’s scrawny body, that’s true. I love Jacob’s bod, but don’t like the moodiness. Sigh… it’s a tough call…

  2. Fae says:

    If these are the kind of guys who live up there, then I’m Team Forks.

Leave a Reply

