Attitude of Gratitude

Well, hello, Friends! I’m so happy to be part of the (active) Idiosyncrazies Team once again! Our dear friend, Farie, has done a great job of filling in during my absence, hasn’t she?And now, word has it, she is going to be a regular Idiosyncrazies Team Member; she’s definitely got what it takes.

As I look back, I realize my last Idiosyncrazies blog post was when each of us posted our Bucket List. I found this ironic as today’s post began to percolate in the Idiosyncrazy hopper, for it is also a list, a list of things for which I am profoundly grateful.

As most of you know, I suffered a serious accident a few weeks ago. It is my wish to put as much distance between that event and the healing that continues today and, as a result, I won’t be discussing the accident itself, but instead, discussing those things for which I am most profoundly grateful. These are the things that I focus upon to bolster my Attitude of Gratitude; the big things and the little things…

The caring team at Legacy Emanuel Medical Center, Portland, Oregon. I cannot say enough about the professionalism, the compassion, the kindness, and the caring of each and every staff member we came in contact with.  At every step along the way, Mr. Fannie and I felt we were in the hands of some of the best of the best. They will be forever on my Attitude of Gratitude list.

My amazing family. Here are three of them gathered together, celebrating my homecoming as well as the upcoming birthday of the youngest member of Team Fannie.

My incredible husband. Words cannot convey the strength I drew from him. He rarely left my side.

The outpouring from my friends and family, near and far; a few of which are pictured and represented here:

For the purpose of cheering me, via the magic of digital photography and sharing, these beautiful pictures of my grandson "appeared" in my room. Did they do the job? They most certainly did!

Fuzzy socks and incredible chocolate; guaranteed to speed the healing process.

Lots and lots and lots of reading material! From the practical to the "trashy." Good stuff!

Just one of the beautiful bouquets that arrived at our house after I returned home.

Quite a collection of get well cards! Every heartfelt sentiment, funny little quips and prayers for healing brought my Attitude of Gratitude over the top.

A prized collection of rocks gathered by my grandson when he would go on his daily walks with "PaLar" up to the mailbox. There's another very similar collection on our front bench. I can't bear to part with them.

This precious work of art is a needlepoint silhouette of our grandson. It was "coordinated" by my daughter capturing a profile photo of our grandson, emailing it to my dear friend Cynthia, who used it to create a pattern and then appliqued it on this beautiful muslin pillow. When the "subject" of the pillow saw it, he pointed and said, "Parkers!" (he likes to refer to himself in the plural!).

And this little wonder of technology...ah...my lifeline to all of my friends and family; text messages, phone calls, email and Facebook (some of the best Facebooking occurs in the middle of the night); they sustained me when I was far from home.

My incredibly generous co-workers who donated many, many hours of paid time off from their own hard-earned paid time off banks into mine, enabling me to focus on taking the time off work necessary to heal, not worrying about how quickly I needed to be back in the office.
And last, but, never, ever, least…it sustained me, it comforted me, it strengthened me when I was weak and lifted me when I didn’t think I had any lift left…
Love you all, love my co-authors, and love looking forward.
Fannie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Attitude of Gratitude

  1. Fae says:

    this is beautiful, Fannie, just beautiful. your tender and loving heart shows through all that you do and that’s why you have been showered with tokens of love and friendship during this time. we can’t help but love you! remember that quote from the Pink Panther? ‘In every day and every way, I’m getting better and better!’ that’s you!

  2. Stac says:

    What a nice post Patti – you brought tears to my eyes once again.

    Hugs!

    Stac

  3. Farie says:

    Patti, what a beautiful thank you letter. I know that I speak for all who love you and call you friend, as well as your family, We are so glad that we can bestow on you what you have so generously bestowed on us, love and relationship. As Thomas Jefferson once said, ” But friendship is precious, not only in the shade, but in the sunshine of life; and thanks to a benevolent arrangment of things, the greater part of life is sunshine.”

    Love you!

Leave a Reply

