The other “F” word…

One of the most unexpected surprises about moving to the country, is how difficult it is to carve out time for healthy activities. Oh sure there’s plenty to do, chores galore, as Eva Gabor might acknowledge, but seriously, trying to find the time to make “Fitness” a priority can be a challenge.

For one thing, there are no street lights. When we lived in the city limits of Central Point, I would get up at the butt crack of dawn and drag myself through town for a 50 minute walk- jog before work. The biggest thing I had to worry about were the stray cats and the raccoons that climbed out of the storm drains.

Here, it’s different. If you want to go out in the dark, you should probably carry a 30 ot 6 and wear night vision goggles. You see, we don’t just have raccoons and bears. We have mountain lions. Mountain Lions big enough to saddle. Those that know me, know that I am a cat lover, but I hope I never have to get up close and personal with one of these creatures. We even have a neighbor down the way that had a calf disappear last spring. I have no desire to become big kitty’s next meal.

Another thing, people don’t necessarily keep their dogs locked up, either. Let’s face it, when you live in the sticks, dogs are a form of protection. I get that. I have a scary chocolate lab and a chihuahua myself. We haven’t had any problems with strangers or mountain lions around our house. There is a woman who lives about a mile down the road from our place that has a rotten little mutt that likes to come out and nip at your heels when you come by his house. I hate that dog.

And did I mention that it’s COLD here? Envision me, walking around with a parka, several layers of socks, a hat, gloves, night vision goggles and a 30 ot 6. If you saw someone walking around like the Michelin Man carrying a gun out in the sticks, wouldn’t you shoot them?!!

Clearly, the gym would be a safer choice, but it’s definitely not popular with the rest of the family. See, Hubby doesn’t like the fact that I am “always” gone. Taking our daughter to this or that, my job and other hobbies often take me from our humble abode, so for me to request going to the gym and being gone for an additional hour and a half in the morning or night isn’t going to fly.

So, I have relegated my fitness time to my lunch break at work. In about 17 minutes, I get a very fast (uh, it’s flat) 1 and 1/2 mile walk in. On the weekends, during the daylight hours, I put on a few layers and do a hefty 3 and 1/2 miles. The opportunities will improve once daylight savings time kicks in. This is a good place to start, but I am going to have to continue to find creative ways to squeeze in some exercise.

Hey, maybe it’s time to hit the infomercials…Tracy Anderson, here I come…

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The other “F” word…

  1. Fae says:

    Oh you make me laugh right out loud, Tiff! Is that picture of the chihuahua yours? I love the photos you used to enhance your story…good job!! Clearly, you were meant to be a blogger!

    • Farie says:

      LOL, no, my chihuahua is more likely to piddle than snarl. She’s very timid.
      Thanks again for inviting me into the fun!

  2. Fannie says:

    Tiff, how come you never wear the frilly housecoat, pictured at the top of this blog post, when we’re all together at Croptoberfest? Oh, I see, it’s only for special occasions out in the country, eh?

Leave a Reply

