Reply All

Have you ever used Reply All for your email responses?  It’s a handy little tool to take care of multiple response addresses.  I’ve used it on occasion, particularly when involved in planning a group event with friends or family.  We’ve used it in planning for our scrapbooking retreats or in coordinating dates for a dinner out with a group of friends.  It’s a very, very useful button to push.

Unless.

Unless you’re not thinking of the ramifications of your actions.

I was recently involved in a ‘Reply All’ cluster youknowwhat.  I had received a joke email from my sister-in-law.  I was not the only one to receive it; she probably sent it to 10 other people as well.  I looked at it, chuckled at a few of the photos and deleted it.  I don’t forward much in the way of emails these days.  I don’t know why; maybe because most of the items circulating have been around a few times already.  But this was a new one.

I am always delighted to see how some minds are creative and funny at the same time.  I love how in the following photos, some wiseacre put the jab to Madison Avenue and to some religious crazies.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not a Hater of other Religions, short of Satanism.   I’m pretty much a peace-nik and believe that all religions have committed crimes in the name of their superior being.  But there are crazies out there in the world believing their way is the only way.

I always try to steer away from discussions or conversations regarding religion.  Oh, and politics.  These two topics will turn ordinary friends into mortal enemies.  To me, it’s just not worth it.  But I digress.

Here are a few of the images that I thought were funny (three out of 10 sent..I didn’t want to have this turn into the original email).

Again, slamming the Madison Avenue advertising community and their insidious ways of getting into our subconscious with irreverent humor.  I love irreverent humor.  I love reference humor as well.

Back to that email…After I deleted it and went upon my merry business, I heard the little chime my computer makes when it downloads mail to my account.  I checked on it and was surprised to find a “Reply All” from someone I didn’t know but recognized as one of the recipients in the original email.  Again, I have never met this person or had any contact with her at this point in my life.  She sent this email back to the originator plus everyone else on the list.

Her first words were, “How can you all be so ignorant?”

(She doesn’t even know me and she calls me ignorant?  What happened to good manners?  Why couldn’t she just say, “Good morning, you Ignoramuses?”  That shows common courtesy AND directness all at once.  Right off the bat, I’m thinking that this woman is the ignorant one.)

She continues with, “How can you perpetuate bigotry and hatred by this message?”

(Hey, I’m not perpetuating bigotry unless you mean the new bias I have for strange idiots emailing me?  I don’t hate; I get even.)

She goes on assuming that I had joined others in forwarding the email out to others ad infinitum.  I had not.  I had read it and deleted it.  So there, Miss Don’t Confuse Me With The Facts.  By the time she finished her diatribe, I needed blood pressure pills.  This was just uncalled for at the un-godly hour of 7am.

And the fact that she not only picked on me, but the others as, including one brother and the sister-in-law who sent the original out.  DO NOT ATTACK MY FAMILY BECAUSE I GOT YOUR CRAZY RIGHT HERE.

I quickly wrote to my sister-in-law assuring her that I didn’t take offense to the jokes and to keep sending me things; don’t let that person dissuade you otherwise.

Then I sat and stewed about this.  At first, I thought that a scathing Reply All is what she deserved letting her know what I thought about her assumptions.

And then I stewed some more.

And then my computer chimed again with new emails.

I, along with all of us Reply All recipients, just received 14, count ‘em, 14, religious emails praying for our souls from this woman.

If I thought my blood pressure was high before, it went nuclear with this action.  I was shaking with anger towards someone I didn’t even know.

I eventually calmed down after two more cups of coffee, a cigarette, three beers, and a Manhattan followed by a Prosac.  No, not really.  I don’t take pills in the morning.

But I did email her using her method of Reply All.  In it I said:

Good morning, MadeUpName! 

We’ll have a little computer class this morning, ok? 

 One of the easiest buttons to use is called the Delete button.  One of the most dangerous buttons to use is called the Reply All button. 

Learn the difference between them. 

Have a nice day.

 

Never heard back from her again.

 

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Reply All

  1. Farie says:

    Good job, Lorna! Very clever. I think everyone has gotten one of these emails and can relate.
    Have a great weekend!

  2. Felia says:

    You. Are. A. Goddess! I love your response. The “Reply All” button is indeed a very bad thing for some people. Also confused: “Reply” and “Forward.” Love it!!!!

  3. Fannie says:

    Could you please teach Computer Etiquette 101? And yes, your response was right on point! Way to go, Fae…

    “Reply all” can be a dangerous, dangerous button. In a “prior life” I was in the awkward situation of having to counsel a co-worker who mistakenly confused a “forward” and “reply all” and forwarded an email to an associate whom she had, in a previous email to others, raked over the proverbial coals. Let’s just say, the Fit hit the Shan from various ends of that “reply all/forward” debacle. Not a pretty sight. Not at all.

    And…in closing…you may not know Miss MadeUpName, but I have no doubt she now knows who SHE’S dealing with…can you imagine? She’s gonna go around to all of her “reply all” friends and give them a big “Heads Up”…”if you ever get an email that includes Fae Idiosyncrazies (what a name!) in the distribution list, DO NOT, under any circumstances, hit REPLY ALL!”

Leave a Reply

