My First Stab At This

I wanted to cook this past weekend.  I wanted to make something sweet, easy, and it had to contain apples. (I had a bunch of frozen apples that I wanted to use up.)  So I decided I would make an apple crisp.

I don’t have a recipe for apple crisp.  And I was too lazy to go upstairs and look for one on the Internet.  I thought, I don’t need no stinkin’ recipe! I’ll just make one up.

It turned out pretty good if I do say so myself. (The apples were a little mushy, but they were getting mushy before I froze them.  Which was the whole reason I froze them in the first place!)  The recipe follows; however, I didn’t measure a darn thing when I was making it!  I just literally threw this together.

Felia’s Homemade Apple Crisp

  • 3 apples, cored and chopped
  • 1  Tbls. cinnamon + 2 Tbl. cinnamon
  • 3 Tbls. brown sugar + 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 Tbl. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp salt + 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 Tbl butter + 2 Tbl butter, melted
  • 1 cup oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda

Combine apples, 1 tablespoon cinnamon, 3 tablespoons brown sugar, 1 tsp salt and lemon juice.  Layer in the bottom of dish (I used a pie pan, but whatever you have on hand will be just fine.)  Cut up 1 tablespoon of butter and dot the pan with it.

Pretty Little Apples...and BUTTER!

Combine the remaining ingredients, and cover the apples in the dish.  Bake at a 350 oven for 30 minutes, or until crisp.

Feel free to tweak, add, or remove whatever you wish!  I figure: you can’t mess up apple crisp TOO bad!

The Finished Product

 

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My First Stab At This

  1. Fae says:

    oh my that DOES look yummy…and I bet it smelled absolutely heavenly while it was cooking? I love apple crisp..or berry crisp..oh heck…I love CRISPS!

Leave a Reply

