Just call me Queen o’ Denial…Ouch! That hurts!

A few short weeks ago, Munch’s horse and I had a disagreement while I was loading her in the horse trailer. Well, actually, she was having a disagreement with me, and weighing 800+ pounds more that I do, well, let’s just say I was in no position to argue. For a few short seconds I became one of those inflatable Bozo the Clown dolls. Remember those? You’d sock ’em and they’d bounce back up at you?  I was bounced in between equine and the wall of the trailer. Luckily, I wasn’t seriously hurt, but was a bit shook up.

The next day, the sides of my head were slightly bruised, but I also noticed that both of my shoulders were sore and it was uncomfortable to move them, the right one, especially.

Well, I waited four weeks before going to the doctor. I’m a tough cookie, but when things weren’t improving over time, I knew I was going to have to bite the bullet and go in.  You see, I pride myself in being healthy as a horse, no pun intended, and rarely visit the doctor unless I just can’t shake something. They actually had to pull my file out of the archives.

But the painful reality of this visit is that I’m not getting any younger and I bounce back more slowly than I used to. As a matter of fact, my doses of ibuprofen now outnumber my daily vitamins. I actually buy it in a multi-pack at Wal-Mart.  With a full spring and summer ahead of me and nearly 7 acres worth of yard work, I can’t afford to be out of commission.

Well, the doctor suspected that I sprained my rotator cuffs on both arms. She was also kind enough to let me know that she thought I had some arthritis, too. Well, thank you for sharing. Seriously, I have never considered myself vain, but this getting older stuff really stinks!

She sent me out of her office with a referral to a physical therapist, as well as an order for blood work. It seems I haven’t had any blood drawn in three years. God only knows what they will discover when the labs come back…”My, but you have an unusually high amount of ibuprofen in your system.”

I start physical therapy next week and I can’t wait. If you’ve never had it before, you are really missing something. Physical therapy is this great service where these unusually attractive young people are paid ridiculous amounts of money to HURT YOU. Yes, that’s right, now that I have been accidentally injured, I am volunteering myself for more injury, and paying for them to do it to me!

I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, could someone pass the ibuprofen?

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just call me Queen o’ Denial…Ouch! That hurts!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Oh sister . . . I can SO relate to this. I never in my wildest dreams ever thought I would be on some of these “old people” medications that I am currently on. Getting older if not for sissy LaLa’s!

  2. Fae says:

    Unfortunately, I too have to have ‘old people’s’ medications….HRT!!! menopause sucks!!

Leave a Reply

