Gearing Up for My Birthday

Yesterday, I mentioned offhandedly to Biff that my mom once forgot my birthday.  He laughed and asked, “How can that be?  You only mention it every day for a month before the big day.”  And I replied, “And the reason I do that is because Mom forgot my birthday!”

I was 10 or 11, and my mom forgot my birthday, which in my mind (then and now) is pretty much the most spectacular day of the year, because I get presents and friends and family have to call me and talk to me, which is one of my most favorite past-times.

Seriously.  My own mother.  Forgot the anniversary of the day she gave birth to me!!  Usually, she would have a little card set out by my breakfast, or a special breakfast that included a little more than cold cereal.  And a hug and a kiss.  But not this time.  No, not this year.

I went to school feeling devastated, possibly because she also forgot the cupcakes she had made the previous night for my class.  How could she FORGET!? On my way to the bus stop, I held my little fist up to the morning sky and vowed to myself,  “As God as my witness, no one will ever miss my birthday again; no one.”  And I had never even SEEN Gone With the Wind!

Ever since, I have never let anyone forget my birthday.  The other day, I said to Biff, “OH! My birthday is coming up!” And he said, “I knoooooow!  It’s the 11th.” I gasped.  I slowly turned my head to look at the atrocity that sat upon the couch.  “WHAT did you say?”  He immediately back pedaled and said, “No!  The 12th!  I know it’s the 12th. HAHA.”  I replied, “No HAHA.  It’s not the 12th either.”  Needless to say, I am pretty sure I am getting EXTRA birthday presents this year from Biff to make up for that gaffe.

So, in keeping with my vow, it’s my birthday next Tuesday!  Yippie!!!  Just thought I should let you all know.

This entry was posted in Holidays. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gearing Up for My Birthday

  1. Fannie says:

    OMG…this is hysterical …as God is my witness …go back a few monthes and see how I used that phrase in connection w/the Nettie pot! Oh, and happy birthday! A day before Idiosyncrazies! How can I forget?

  2. Fae says:

    so it’s when again? sometime this spring?

  3. Felia says:

    Oh, Fae, you are sooo funny! Right up there with Biff making fun of my necessary constant reminding.

Leave a Reply

