Ann Lander’s Meatloaf

Yes, you read it right:  Ann Lander’s Meatloaf.  My mom got this recipe out of the newspaper when I was little, and we have been making this meatloaf ever since.  And I am pretty sure that no one cares about copy right infrigement since it appeared in the newspaper, and I am still calling it Ann Lander’s Meatloaf.

I remember my mom making this, and my dad, too, ever since I was little.  The recipe sat in mom’s cookbook, cut out a newspaper and it was yellowed it with age.  I copied it when I went to college, and I have been making it ever since.  I love it, and I have tried many variations, but I always keep coming back to the original!

Not my mom's copy, but it looks the same to me!

This clipping is NOT the clipping that my mom had, as Mom’s clipped recipe called for oatmeal instead of breadcrumbs, but it is close.  And I usually don’t have any Accent on hand, so I use seasoned salt instead.

My MOM’S Ann Lander’s Meatloaf Recipe

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3 oz. ketchup
  • 1 packet Lipton’s onion soup mix
  • 1 tsp. Accent

Mix together ingredients and put in casserole dish.  Bake for 1 hour at 350.  An option is to put BBQ sauce or tomato sauce on top before serving.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Challenges, Cooking, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ann Lander’s Meatloaf

  1. Fae says:

    I can’t tell you how long it’s been since I’ve seen a recipe that calls for Accent!! That was such a big hit in the 1970’s. I remember MY mom loved using that seasoning. (And Mrs. Dash!) And I love the BBQ sauce option. Love me some BBQ sauce! And your dinner looks so Paleo, too! ;o)

    • Felia says:

      Except for the Lipton’s onion soup mix and ketchup, I thought it looked pretty Paleo, too! Instead of soup mix and ketchup, you can use onions and tomato sauce. And Accent. Lord knows my mom’s bottle of Accent is older than the hills.

  2. Stac says:

    My husband’s grandma gave me a chicken pasta recipe that called for Accent . . . I had to ask her what it was because I didn’t know. Guess I was too young to cook much in the 70’s.
    This recipe is very similar to how I make my meatloaf (except for the Accent) and I love it. Last time I added some asian sweet chili sauce and it added a nice little zip to the flavor.

    Stacey

  3. Farie says:

    I love to see old newspaper clipping recipes! I’m trying to remember if my Mom’s recipe called for onion soup mix? This sounds very good, especially with the BBQ sauce!

  4. Anonymous says:

    Accent is msg. Some people can’t tolerate it.

  5. Felia says:

    And that is probably why you can’t find it in the grocery store anymore. Like I said, just use seasoned salt instead! 🙂

Leave a Reply

