Meatloaf, the other fruitcake…

Ah, meatloaf. It gets nearly as bad a rap as fruitcake.

When I was growing up, my Mom made a meatloaf that was all ground beef and not much else. I don’t really remember what all the ingredients were in it, but I do remember it used A-1 sauce, and a couple of pieces of bread (Roman Meal) soaked in milk, and she called it good. I grew up on that meatloaf and I would eat it, but I don’t think I would have ranked it amongst my favorite dinners.

When I grew up and got married, to my utter disappointment, my husband loved meatloaf. So, I set off on a personal quest to find a recipe that I would enjoy as well as him. I figured if I had to make it, I better learn to like it.

Shortly thereafter, I went on a long weekend trip to my Aunt’s in Tygh Valley, Oregon. She prepared a meal that I remember to this day. She served meatloaf and it was incredible! I noticed hers had some visible peppers in it, and had italian sausage in it, too.

So, I incorporated her items into what I call Zesty Italian Meatloaf. I have never followed a recipe, but instead, go by “feel”. I think this is a very “pretty” meatloaf, too.

Zesty Italian Meatloaf

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

  • 1 lb. each ground beef, ground turkey (or chicken) and italian sausage
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 cup diced red pepper
  • 1/3 cup diced green pepper
  • 1/3 cup diced red onion
  • 1 medium carrot, coarsely shredded
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped parsley
  • 3 Tbs. Parmesan Cheese
  • 1/2 cup dried Italian Bread Crumbs

Seasoning Mix:

  • 1/2 tsp. fresh ground pepper
  • 2 tsp. seasoning salt
  • 1 Tbs. Italian Seasoning

Mix the seasoning mix items in a small bowl and sprinkle over all other ingredients in a large bowl, mixing well. Turn into a shallow baking dish, shaping into a loaf.

Mix the following ingredients and pour 1/2 on top of the meatloaf, reserving the rest to offer as extra sauce on the side.

Zesty Sauce

  • 1 1/2 cups ketchup
  • 2 tsp. Worchestershire sauce
  • 2 Tbs. A-1 Sauce
  • 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • Tabasco Sauce to taste

Bake at 375 degrees for an hour and fifteen minutes, or until the juices run clear and there is no pink.

You can add just about any veggie you want, as long as you dice it up small. I have made this with broccoli in it, too. Enjoy!

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Challenges, Cooking, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meatloaf, the other fruitcake…

  1. Fae says:

    Your title made me snort my coffee this morning!! In looking over your ingredients, they are eerily similar to what mine are. Wait until Friday and compare…..and that sauce looks delish!

  2. Fannie says:

    This sounds A-1 derful…hmmmm…

  3. Felia says:

    This looks great! What a clever way to sneak some veggies into my meat.

Leave a Reply

