Run to the Ranch

The Run is done in May of each year to an itby bity town in Utah.  I love this place.  Most of my cousins show up for this Run.  What do we do here?  Thanks for asking.  Well, we catch up with each other since our last meeting….which was in Hawaii in March of this year.  (We meet a lot).  And we plan on our next gathering which will be in August of this year.  Yes, that’s right.  Three family reunions a year is about average for us.  We were lucky this year in that we have more family from Australia here for this reunion.  Anyway, back to the ranch.  This is the place of one of my earliest memories of being with my dad and his family when I was about 7 years old.  It was a working ranch back then…cattle.  They had chickens and pigs and horses; this was quite wonderful to a little seven year old girl.  Until of course, that stupid chicken pooped on my hand.  Then the wonder of the barnyard animals lost its’ allure to me.

But we come here to visit and remember our parents and grandparents.  Oh, and to shoot prairie dogs.  Oh, yes we do.  At the last census there were approximately 14 bazillion prairie dogs per square mile around here.  They are a hazard to cows and horses with their dens which the larger animals can step into and break their legs.  The dogs procreate every half hour so in May the culling begins.

This is the first morning since arriving and some of the men are more than ready to get out and go to the killing fields.  All is done on private land with approval of the land owners themselves.  These photos look out over some of the cattle fields in front of my cousin’s home.

And this is how we look…(I would LOVE to show you the photos I’ve taken but my laptop is refusing to cooperate.  I’ll kick it around a bit to see if that helps.  Probably not.)

Not a very long post but I wanted you to get a feel for how we’re spending our weekend.

Love

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

