What 3 Wonderful Things Have Befallen You, Praytell?

Superstitions…why do people believe in them, I have to ask? Seriously, if you break a mirror, 7 years bad luck are sure to follow? Something bad will happen if you step on a crack in the sidewalk or if you walk under a ladder?! Who comes up with this stuff? The only logical explanation that I can come up with, is that someone had imbibed too much wine one night after being jilted by a lover, spent hours coming up with freak accidents to do away with said schmuck. I have always thought superstitions were pure drivel.

I for one, believe that we have a Creator who is in control of everything. He may not make it happen, but he allows it to happen. However, then I noticed myself being caught up in a superstition. No, not a superstition about some inanimate object having power over my future happiness, but the superstition that bad things happen in three’s. I decided to try to see if I could locate the origin of this superstition. No dice. Funny thing, though, the Bible itself has a theme of three running throughout it. The Pope himself suggests that three denotes the beginning, middle and the end.

But back to my most recent three things… I lost a parent a couple of weeks ago and just a few days afterward, my Munch got kicked in the teeth by her horse and she lost a front permanent tooth. Well, you can bet after those two traumatic incidents, I was fearful of what was to come. How long does the “Rule of Three” last? Is there a statute of limitations? Later it came to me that these incidents weren’t ranked #1 and #2, but ranked #2 and #3. Our water well quit working two days before incident #2 and cost us a mere $274.oo. Whew…sigh of relief. Now I can move on.

Really, though, do bad things really happen in threes or do we just look at them as a beginning, middle and end and then start over, kinda like New Year’s Day, tabla rasa and all that. Maybe we should try a different perspective, after all. Maybe we should count all the good things that happen to us instead, making it the “Power of Three”. Let’s see, today I finally got to a cumulus of paperwork on my desk that had been collecting dust for a couple of weeks, Munch’s riding lesson was cancelled (unexpected break) and I got a refund from our Medical Insurance Company for $30.

I don’t know about you, but I feel better already.

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What 3 Wonderful Things Have Befallen You, Praytell?

  1. Fae says:

    You know, I really never remember the ‘bad things happen in threes’…but many people around me do and count them off to me. I prefer to always look on the bright side, the glass is always half full not half empty, and greet the day with a smile. I think you do too.

Leave a Reply

