Wicket

Anybody know the reference to that title?  It was the name of an Ewok from the Star Wars movies.  It was also the name of my first Yorkshire Terrier.  I called her Wicket because her face reminded me all the time of those Ewoks.  Wickie for short; Wicket when she was naughty.  Much like my mother would use my full name when I was naughty as well.  Today, I laid my beloved Wickie to rest, finally.  She died in 2010 but I have not been able to scatter her ashes until today.

I made myself a promise that I would scatter her ashes with those of my mom’s.  My mom absolutely loved Wickie; in fact, she wanted a Yorkie herself because of Wickie.  However it was not to be as my dad laid down the law.  “If you can walk the dog and pick up after the dog, you can have a dog”.   My mom had had back surgery and used a walker the last few years of her life, so she didn’t get a dog.  Instead, she loved Wickie as her own.

Wickie was incredibly easy to love.  I used to let her hair grow long like you see in photographs of Yorkies, but it became so time consuming.  I had to brush it daily to keep it looking nice.  After a year of that, I kept her hair cut in what’s referred to as a puppy cut.  She was my constant companion for 13 years.

I have kept this on my desk next to my computer since 2010.

The year she died, I didn’t have the heart to put her in with the roses.  It was too soon and each time I went to pick up the box, my tears would flow.  The following year, when my roses bloomed, I couldn’t do it again.  This year, however, I told myself that when my roses were at their peak, Wickie would be laid to rest.  And today I did just that….putting her where my mom is as well.  It was my mother’s wish to be there and I honored that as well as her.  I like to think that they are together, playing tug of war with an old sock.  Wickie loved to do that.

I had help today with my endeavors.  This is Sadie, another Yorkie.  She is my constant companion as well. Rest in Peace, Wickie…I love you still.

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wicket

  1. Felia says:

    I miss WIcket, too. This was a really touching story; thanks for sharing.

  2. fannie1 says:

    Oh, dear friend, I remember sweet Wicket…and I know, all too well, the hesitancy to lay our precious pets to rest. It was a couple of years before I could put Patches to rest in the flower bed, under our Garden Fairy sculpture.

Leave a Reply

