So many books, so little time…

There are many things that I enjoy in life, but few I enjoy as much as a good book. I always wonder why people don’t enjoy reading. Seriously? Where can you be transported for several hours to another time and place, and get the opportunity to visit without leaving the comfort of your own favorite place? This, all for less than it costs for a movie ticket.

My favorite place is my bedroom. There, I can close the door and shut the world out for awhile, along with Hubby, Munch and their favorite (and noisy) television programs. I often climb on top of the covers, and nestle down with a paperback or a Kindle edition book.

I love my Kindle! It’s great for a variety of reasons:

  1. You can read trash without putting a cover on it (pretty obvious that you don’t want people to know what you’re reading)
  2. You can covet as many books as you want without being concerned that your house will be taken over with written materials (so sad my Dad isn’t around to have one of these…)
  3. You can order the books in your pajamas and start reading them before you could have started the car to head to Barnes and Noble.
  4. You don’t have to dust them.
  5. It takes up much less space than even one book and weighs less than several when you are traveling.

In “Dolce di Love”, I have “watched” a marriage nearly fall apart, only to be mended under crazy circumstances.

While reading two of her memoirs, I have visited the hills of Tuscany with Frances Mayes, and have taken in the scents of the wonderful wines, and have envisioned the wonderful meals, and met the eclectic people that surround her home in Italy.

I have been a nervous wreck as I watched a young woman nearly get destroyed by the by the child welfare system in Sweden, only to be saved by a womanizing journalist.

I have traveled the streets in India, smelling the smells and envisioning surgeries take place in a primitive setting.

I have improved my photography skills from reading, as I have improved by horseback riding.

Books have allowed me to embrace areas of life that might have remained undiscovered for me. Books have the ability to keep our dreams alive.

As for me, I plan on going to Italy one day, but in the meantime, I can live vicariously through the authors that were kind enough to put pen to paper and share their experiences with us.

Right now, I am off to finish another adventure in “The Dry Grass of August”. Buena Notte…

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Books, Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So many books, so little time…

  1. Fae says:

    Reading is one of my favorite pastimes as well. Although I don’t have a Kindle, I use my iPad as my eLibrary, and I’m filling up those shelves mighty fast! I do need some good reading ideas for a plane ride…any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

