Easy Granola

Easy Peasy Granola

For years and years, since my kids were little ones, I’ve tried my hand at making Granola or Trail Mix, if you will.  I hate buying that stuff because it’s more of a handful of candy complete with M&M’s instead of something a little more healthful.  Some of the ingredients that are combined together for granola I wouldn’t eat alone let my kids or grandkids eat it.

Although I’m sure they would love it.

I’ve finally latched onto a recipe that, with a bit of tweaking, we have done somersaults over.  Not only do we eat this by the hands full, I eat it as my cereal in the morning a few times a week.  Because this is chock full o’ nuts, this isn’t my go-to snack every single day.  But it does ease the hunger pangs at 4:30pm when I dip a spoon into it and eat it!

Cast of characters

You will need cinnamon, honey, vanilla, nutmeg, coconut oil, almonds, pepitas, sunflower seeds, unsweetened coconut and dried fruit of your choice.  I used raisins.

To start, combine the coconut oil and honey into a small dish and microwave it until the oil softens and can be thoroughly mixed with the honey.  Add vanilla.

Next, in a large bowl, mix the pepitas, sunflower seeds, almonds, and coconut.  Sprinkle the nutmeg and cinnamon and mix it in again over the nuts.  Once all that is done, pour liquids over the nuts and mix well.  DO NOT add the dried fruit yet.

Layer a large rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper and pour granola into it spreading it all over evenly. Bake at 300 degrees for thirty minutes.  Your house will smell wonderful!  Once it’s browned up, take it out of the oven.  Now you can the dried fruit of your choice to the top of the granola.  Let this whole thing cool completely and then store in an air tight container.

Easy Granola

2 cups slivered almonds

2 cups unsweetened coconut flakes (not tiny shreds, it’s awful)

1 cup raw pepitas (shelled pumpkin seeds)

1 cup raw sunflower seeds

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup coconut oil

2 t vanilla

1 t cinnamon

1 t nutmeg

Preheat oven to 300F and line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment.  You’ll be glad you did.  Mix nuts and seeds in a large bowl; add cinnamon and nutmeg, mix again.  Microwave the coconut oil and honey until liquified.  Add vanilla to this mixture.  Pour coconut oil/honey mixture over the nuts and seeds.  Stir to coat.  Pour onto baking sheet and spread it out.  Bake for 30 minutes until golden.  Add dried fruit of your choice to the top of the granola and let cool completely.  I used about 1 cup of raisins.  Store in an air tight container.

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Paleo approved. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

