The One Where We Forgot The Meat

Remember the show Friends?  The episodes names always started with “The One Where…” and this came to mind this weekend when we forgot yet another thing when we went camping.

I swear, I forget something every single time I go camping. Sometimes it is something I can live without.  Sometimes it is not, like the time I forgot my pillow.  I spent a long, cold night tossing and turning. 

So from now on, in my scrapbook, the camping pages are going to be entitled “The One Where We Forgot….”  This time, it was MEAT.  ALL THE MEAT!!!

Needless to say, I was pretty miserable.  Here’s how it happened that I (WE) forgot the most important thing on a camping trip:

I, being ever so prepared, pulled the brats and sausages from the freezer and put them with everything else that needed to go into the cooler in the morning.  This way, everything was in one place.  I went through my list of items we needed to bring, and they were all ready to go, sitting in a pretty pile in the fridge.  In the morning, I pulled all the things from the fridge into the cooler, and we took off.  WITHOUT THE MEAT.  Because Biff decided late the night before that the brats and sausages needed to be frozen before we put them in the cooler, so he put them BACK IN THE FREEZER.  Seriously.

Of course, dinner time rolls around and I am hungry.  I want brats!  And I want to cook them slowly over the fire, and enjoy my evening.  I dig through the cooler, and I can’t find them.  Hmmmm.  I thought back to when I packed the cooler.  Wait a tick….. “Umm, babe?  Where are the brats?”  He looks at me, “In the freezer.”  “What!?”  He replies, very seriously, “I thought you would have seen they weren’t there and then asked me where I put them, and then I could tell you in the freezer!”  He’s lucky I had been supplementing my diet all day with light beer, because I could have done something very drastic since he was denying me my protein! In dire search of any kind of meat product to have for dinner, I start looking for the sausages, breakfast be damned!  No sausages.  “Babe?  You did the same thing to the sausages, too?”  “Um, yeah.”  In his defense, he thought I was so prepared that when I saw the brats were missing from the fridge, I would ask him where the brats were. 

In my defense, I put them all in the fridge so I wouldn’t have to think about that shit in the morning.

This entry was posted in Food, Hobbies, Relationships. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The One Where We Forgot The Meat

  1. Fae says:

    now that was funny!! And only because I do the exact same thing each time we go camping as well. This last adventure? I forgot the chicken to make the appetizers, which was my turn to share with everyone as well. I looked like a schmuck since I’m the one who suggested each of us do appetizers for the whole group!! Where did you go, btw?

  2. Farie says:

    LOL, I am with Fae, we always forget something, usually because Hubby is chomping at the bit to get out of dodge, tapping his foot and the whole nine yards!
    This story reminds me of a camping trip that we took up the Rogue where he brought venison steaks (not marinated) and no STEAK KNIFES. I think I got TMJ by the time that adventure was over.
    Don’t you just love it when they “help”?

Leave a Reply

