Once….Never Again…

Today I found myself musing about some of the things I had done in my life that I have tried, with poor or unpleasant results. I don’t recall what made me go on this thinking tangent, but here are a few that I came up with:

Eating Raw Oysters

Image

First of all, I think you should know that even though my life is fairly sheltered, I love to try new things, and foods are no exception. So, when I turned 18 and a family member offered to buy me oyster shooters for my birthday, my happy-go-lucky self said, “Sure!”

I was at my favorite seafood restaurant in San Marcos, California, and the server placed  a beautiful tray of oysters on the half shell in front of me. Well, let’s just say that it was all I could do to keep that baby down and I have never had the urge to sample another one, again.

Getting a Divorce

Image

This is one of those, “damned if you do, damned if you don’t” situations. I don’t actually regret getting one. I do regret waiting as long as I did to finally pull the plug on that dysfunctional relationship. However, it is one of the most unpleasant things I have ever gone through, and hope to never go through that again. Seriously, I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. I told my husband I will kill him before I go through another one. We’ve been married 16 years now, so either we’re doing something right, or he’s scared.

Staying up all Night

Image

Back in my younger days, I worked at a grocery store and was nearly alway scheduled for a daytime or evening shift. However, on one occasion, they needed someone to throw the load up, and the shift started at midnight. I decided that I would go out on a date, then drive to work and work until I clocked out at 8:30 in the morning. Well, I arrived and I was on a high! I zoomed around for the next four hours like there was no tomorrow. Then came lunch. And the crash. OMG, this was right up there with the world’s worst hangover, which I hadn’t even experienced yet! I remember fighting not to fall asleep on my way home, and if it weren’t for the reflectors on the freeway, I might not be here right now to share this stupid story with you.

So, there you have it. A few “onces” where the memories aren’t too fresh. By the way, it didn’t make a difference on the oysters.

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Once….Never Again…

  1. Fae says:

    you made me laugh long and hard on this one! don’t worry about the whole oyster thing…it took me until my birthday THIS YEAR to finally come to terms with them. And staying up all night? I’m with you on that. That and drinking too much just hurts more the older you get. By 9pm I’m ready for bed!

Leave a Reply

