Mushroom Marsala Soup

Recently while on vacation, my girls and I had a ‘spa’ day.  That is, we left the Daddys and Papa in charge of the four babies while we had massages and a late lunch.  After all, they disappear to go fly-fishing for the entire day leaving the babies with their Mamas.  Turnabout is fair play and all.  

After our massages, we had a girl’s lunch.  We ate at the Shooting Star resort where they served a delicious mushroom soup.  We devoured it.  I asked the server if the chef would share his recipe but alas the chef was not there during the lunch hour.  He would be back later in the day for dinner service.  Dang it.

Since then, I’ve been dreaming of that soup.  You probably know by now that I’m a soup lover.  What really surprised me about this soup is that both of the girls loved it as well.  My daughter-in-law grew up hating mushrooms but her tastes are changing and she has had more and more mushroom inspired meals as she’s gotten older.  Yea!

Now that I’m back home and have had the time to experiment, I think I’ve come up with a pretty close second to that soup we had in the Tetons.  I didn’t want a cream thickened soup; I wanted it more brothy.  And Marsala.  Lots of Marsala.  Lord, this is a taste I’ve grown to love!

I bought 16 ounces of white mushrooms and 16 ounces of baby bellas to use as my foundation.  I’m sure that you could use any combination of mushrooms or just stick to white mushrooms.  It’s a toss up and yours to make.  Just make sure that you have a grand total of 32 ounces of mushrooms; anything less, well, it wouldn’t taste very mushroomy then, would it?

I used a Yukon potato for the thickening agent and a carrot for flavor (not that you can taste the carrot or potato at all!).

Here are the ingredients:

Heat the butter until it melts and add the onions, sautéing until the onion gets soft but don’t let it brown.

Slice up the mushrooms and carrot and then add to the pot.  Let the mushrooms cook down until they are soft and all the moisture is gone from the pot.  This takes about 20-30 minutes.  Remove about a half cup of the cooked mushrooms; set aside.

Add the garlic, letting it cook a bit, a minute or two, then add the herbs and potato.  Stir well.  Deglaze the pan with the marsala.  Oh, does it smell heavenly now!  Let the wine cook down by 50% and then add the chicken stock.

Simmer all this until the potato is very tender.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Now puree all of this in a food processer or Vitamix.  Be very careful as this is hot, hot, hot and you don’t want to splash it on yourself.  Trust me.  It hurts. 

Your soup is almost done.  Remove it all from the processer and pour into individual bowls.  Into each bowl, spoon a few of the reserved mushrooms and then….

wait for it……

splash a teaspoon of Marsala on top of those.

You will not need a spoon.  Just emerge your face into the bowl and slurp it all up.  If you’re doing this while sitting on your kitchen floor, all the better.

Ingredients:

4 T butter

1/2 cup onion, diced

32 ounces of mushrooms, any kind

1/2 carrot

2-3 cloves of garlic, sliced, diced or smashed

1/2 T sage

1/2 T thyme

1 Yukon gold potato

2 quarts chicken stock

1 cup Marsala wine plus teaspoon fulls to float

Salt and pepper to taste

Cook onion in butter in soup pot until onion is soft but not burned.  Add the mushrooms and carrot.  Cook down until all moisture is gone and mushrooms start to brown up a bit.   Remove one half cup of cooked mushrooms and set aside.  Add the garlic, herbs, and potato.  Stir well and then deglaze the pan with the Marsala wine.  Reduce liquid by half and then add the chicken stock.  Simmer until the potato is very soft when tested with a fork.  Puree in a blender or Vitamix.  Season with salt and pepper.  Ladle into bowls, top with reserved mushrooms and add a splash of Marsala on top.  Enjoy!

Love,

Fae

About Fae

Although I have other blogs I do for my grandchildren, I felt it wasn't enough to satisfy my inner author. I needed a grownup blog to share things on or rant about. Purely egocentric. Hope you like it.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mushroom Marsala Soup

  1. Anonymous says:

    Ok Ok, I will try it, it sounds ohhh so terrible that I will forgo my paleo and give it a try–I will be back after dinner and let you know what I think. :-))

Leave a Reply

