The Camping Burger

This week here at Idiosyncrazies, we are bestowing upon you our favorite hamburger recipes.  Mine is the all-time favorite: the camping burger.  Now, if you remember one of my previous posts, Biff and I always forget something when we go camping.  This time, it was my brain. So, while I was ready to take numerous beautiful pictures of us making the burgers, I forgot.  This had something to do with the fact that I had four beers and sat in the sun for about 6 hours and took a nap.  So sue me.

But as this post is to be about our favorite hamburgers, I will share with you my recipe. It is very hard to remember.  Make sure you take notes.

First, you buy this:

Because we are lazy, and more

often than not, drunk.

Then you put the bag in this:

Because it is there.

Then you put your burgers on it, and try not to let them burn.  In my mind, my picture looked like this:

A VERY artistic picture of burgers on the grill.

But as you can tell, it actually turned out to look like this:

(No, I didn’t forget to insert a picture.  I just forgot to TAKE the picture!)

I should mention here, that while we were out sunbathing, a pesky deer ate a little nibble of all of our hamburger buns.  The buns were in pieces and dirty from the doe knocking them off the table into the dirt.  I, being totally paranoid about getting The Hanta from random wild animals, would not eat any of the buns, so I ate mine on a piece of sandwich bread.  This was probably why I forgot to take the pictures of the burgers.  I was so mad that I left the buns out for the deer to eat!  This deer also ate some of our chips, too.  In the middle of the night.  She (we saw her, it was a she) took the bag of regular Lays and Doritos, pushed them aside, and dug around until she got into the Sour Cream and Onion Ruffles.  Apparently she is a very picky eater. Good thing I am not a super fan of the Sour Cream and Onion chips.

We like to garnish our burgers with everything that comes to mind:  jalapenos, chips, crispy fried onions, what have you.  What we actually had on hand was cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, ketchup, mustard, and relish.  (Because I forgot the onions and mayo. I am telling you, I left my brain at home.)

All in all, this was meant to be a really GREAT post, but it actually turned out exactly like our camping trip: a mess of things all jumbled together!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Hobbies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Camping Burger

  1. Fae says:

    time to start a camping check list, girlfriend!

  2. Felia says:

    That is so funny because I am doing it RIGHT NOW!

  3. Anonymous says:

    Nothing ticks me off quicker than Hubby rushing me only to find that I have forgotten something muy importante, like onions or meat, or steak knives (remind me to share with you that camping adventure sometime).
    As for the deer, I feel lucky because I still have flowers in my pots on the front porch.

  4. Farie says:

    I HATE it when I forget something important for camping, like mayo…or meat…or steak knives.

Leave a Reply

