Mini Black Jack Sliders

Here at Idiosyncrazies, we have embarked on Burger Week. Well, I wish I could say that I like to deviate from the norm here, but seriously we are normally very BORING and PREDICTABLE when it comes to burgers. So, with that in mind, I challenged myself to step outside the box on this one, cold turkey. Actually, Black Jack Turkey Sliders.

Here goes…

First mix up the blackening seasoning mix in a small bowl:

  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder

Next, work on the special sauce, mixing the following ingredients in a small bowl:

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 2 TBS ketchup
  • 1 TBS yellow mustard
  • 1 tsp Sriracha sauce
  • 1 tsp pickled relish
  • Juice of 1/2 a lemon

Now for the important part, the meat:

  • 1 1/2 lbs ground turkey
  • kosher salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 cup shredded monterey jack cheese
  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1 dash worcestershire sauce
  • olive oil for cooking
  • 12 soft dinner rolls, split
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, sliced

Heat a large cast iron griddle over medium-high heat.

Add the ground turkey to a large mixing bowl and sprinkle lightly with salt and pepper. Stir in the cheese, mustard and worcestershire sauce and mix until combined. Form the meat mixture into 12 equal patties, sprinkling both sides of the patties with the blackening spice.

Brush the griddle with the olive oil. Cook the burger for 3 to 4 minutes per side. Serve on split rolls topeed with the tomatoes and Special Sauce.

Yummy!

Hubby was skeptical when I announced we were trying something new, but I believe I got him to come over to the dark (blackened, to be exact) side.

About Farie

I am a country girl that recently came home after 15 years of "city" living. At the age of 40, I got a horse and fell in love with a little girl my husband and I adopted. I love to cook, read, run, garden and write.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mini Black Jack Sliders

  1. Fae says:

    I love me some sliders!! This one looks awesome….how was the heat (spicy-ness) of it?

    • Anonymous says:

      I don’t think it was too spicy. I left the blackening spice mix off the slider for Munch. Also, I didn’t have the Srirachi sauce, so I used tobasco instead, so I expect the sauce will be spicier when you use it.

  2. Fannie says:

    Yummmm-oh! These sound great, Farie! I think they would be perfect paired with Ma Pat’s Beautiful Burger Buns…you can make them smaller then you would for a standard burger, perfect slider size. However, since Mr. Fannie is a sissy (shhh, don’t let that get out) when it comes to spicy foods, I’ll probably leave out the tobasco/Srirachi sauce. But, I gotta try these…and the corn looks great too…from your garden?

Leave a Reply

